Daily Archives: September 3, 2006

Stash lust

Tomorrow, I hop on a plane to spend 8 days in England for a combination of a conference and sightseeing. I’m not sure what’s stressing me out more: my presentation at the conference, or worrying whether or not I will be able to take my knitting on the plane. (I have brought bamboo DPNs assuming they will be less frowned up on than metal ones, and installed a lifeline in my shawl, just in case the circs get confiscated. I’m taking the risk – 10 hours in airports and on a plane is too much to go without knitting if I can help it!)

(I also don’t know if the Knitty fall issue will be released while I’m away. I don’t know what my internet access will be like, but I will check in as much as possible. If it is, then, well – I hope you like my pattern! Erm, it’s my first design. *glee*)

Today, though, I’m very much in love with my stash. Or at least, this part of it:


Allow me to tell the stash story behind all of this.

In February (or was it March?) I finished a fair isle cardigan with yarn from Philosophers Wool. (It was my first time knitting with 2-stranded fair isle. It was awesome and I was only finished 1 sleeve before I couldn’t wait to do another one.) I used the “Tradition” pattern in 4 colours: Dark Purple Heather, Navy, Jade, and Dark Raspberry. When it was finished I still had a full skein each of the Dark Purple and the Jade, and probably the equivalent of a skein left in little balls from the other skeins that I’d used. All in all, roughly the equivalent of 3 skeins or 600 yds of Canadian 100% wool.


Then, I recently found some of their wool in the sale section of my LYS, and I snatched up a few in the Raspberry and Navy because I knew they would match and I thought perhaps it would help me use it up – I’ve been reluctant to use up the 3 skeins of my leftovers because, well, once I use it up then it’s all gone. Sure, from those 3 skeins I could have made a couple of warm, cozy, kickass pairs of socks, some striped scarves and hats, maybe a shawl or a nice bag…But I still kept saving it up.

Then, my parents were on vacation in the vicinity of Philosopher’s Wool and i realized that, with the now 6 skeins that I had, I could add a few more and easily knit another full sweater, this time in the “Colour Your Own” style that lets you start with a base colour of 2-3 skeins’ worth, and then just add in your own selection. So, they were going there anyway, and I asked them to pick up a few more, so now I have 3 Raspberry for the base colour, and then a combination of Jade, Periwinkle Blue, Navy, Dark Purple Heather, Light Purple Heather, and Dark Maroon will form the fair isle combinations. This one will be a pullover, and I’m looking forward to it. But all this will have to wait – I’m off tomorrow! My shawl and a basic sock project are all that shall accompany me across the pond.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized