Socktober!

I wasn’t here in blog-land for the first ‘Socktoberfest’, but by gar I’m ready to stand and be counted for Socktoberfest 2006! The Lovely Lolly is hosting it once again, and I’m kicking it off for myself by starting on my very first pair of Pomatomus:


I’m halfway through the first chart pattern on the leg. So far the only major mishap is that the ribbing and the beginning of the chart don’t line up all swish-like, like they’re supposed to. I did the ribbing in k1b, p1, instead of p1, k1b. Silly me. Also, I gotta say I never really did give much love to the k1b stitch, but it’s lookin’ quite fine in this pattern. Just as long as my chart-fear doesn’t get the better of me, it’ll be all good. The yarn is Patons Kroy Socks, in the ‘winter eclipse’ colourway, and couldn’t be nicer.

My 2nd Ivy is this close to being done. I just need to do the sashes and the finishing and then I’ll have a new sweater. (Hah. I say “just”, as if these things take two seconds. I should know the finishing always takes me 5 times longer than I think it will.) More importantly, though, once I finish this one that means I’ll be able to carry on with one of the other sweaters that has been in the queue for some time. I have itchy knitting fingers. So, I think that will be my Thanksgiving project this weekend.

As for the Socktoberfest (blending nicely with the Sock-A-Month 2 Knitalong) knitting, I’ve got all sorts of sockish plans – argyle ones, knee-high ones, my first toe-up ones perhaps…It’s really a shame that life keeps getting in the way of all this knitting. ;)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Socktober!

  1. Lolly

    No kidding! I want knitting to be my full-time job ;) I am so happy that you are a part of Socktoberfest!

    Your sock is great. Nice match with that lovely yarn!

  2. Marianne

    Beautiful Kroy you have there, congrats.
    Also, ain’t it the truth, life getting in the way of the good knitting. The after-life had just best be filled with fibre goodness and all the goodies that go with it, ya know?

  3. Teyani

    the yarn and the pattern look great together!