Daily Archives: October 10, 2006

Progress

Thanksgiving weekend = food + knitting = awesome.
This is why I love Fair Isle colour work:


Because after just 4 days, I have 1 completed sleeve and 1/3 of the 2nd sleeve. I’m in love with the colours, too, I have to say. I’m glad I waited to add in another one. Of course, I recognize that this wouldn’t go quite as fast if I were using fingering-weight or sport-weight yarn like more traditional Fair Isle, but hey, I’m enjoying the instant gratification.

I also went back to the Pomatomus socks (although I cannot seem to get a non-blurry picture of this…):


So, I’m just a few rows shy of a complete leg and then I’ll move on to the heel. I’ve got to pick up the pace on these, though, I’m a little concerned that I finish them in time for my October socks for the “Sock-A-Month” knitalong, PLUS there is Socktoberfest to think about…

I have to admit that, until the third repeat of the leg pattern, I was hating this pattern. It took that long for the pattern to become intuitive, and I had to keep looking back at the chart multiple times every row. I also think the sock knew I was hating it, because I cannot remember ever having so many problems with dropped stitches within such a small knitting time frame.

I think I’m over the worst of the frustration, though, and would love to have a completed sock (at least) by this time next week. Sadly, the Real World is harsh and cruel and doesn’t have nearly enough knitting time, so I will have to wait until this evening to return to it. Onwards…

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized