Daily Archives: October 19, 2006

Lettuce Knit

Over two and a half years of knitting, I had never been to a ‘Stitch n’ Bitch’ group – until last night.

I finally, finally, finally, finally, finally plucked up the courage to go over to Lettuce Knit for knitting night. I was so nervous when I went in that I had knots in my stomach. I know, I know…knitters are nice – and the LK knitters really are nice, I know this now – but in new group situations I get extremely shy.

But the ground did not swallow me whole, and I made what I think was acceptable conversation, and knitted my Pomatomus sock, and goggled at all the gorgeous yarn lining the walls, and did my best propaganda job for sock-knitting for the knitter sitting on my left who had never done socks before but wanted to. And I talked to Aven, and Amy, and a woman who I knew from my volunteer work but hadn’t seen in years, and lots of other ladies. And I will totally go again.

Back to my regularly-scheduled graduate student programming for today…

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized