Daily Archives: January 21, 2007

Sundays with the Knitting

My poor, neglected Ribbi Cardi has finally seen some action again this past week. After virtually ignoring it since the beginning of December I’ve been giving it my almost-full knitting attention since Tuesday or so and it’s paid off, putting me at about the halfway mark. I’ve completed the back and one full front piece and have started the 2nd front:

The contrast colour for the sleeves will be Bordeaux – I had originally planned to make the body with Bordeaux and use Fired Brick (red) for the sleeves, but then they arrived and I found there wasn’t a strong enough contrast between the two. So, the Fired Brick is still sitting there waiting for something else – I’m tempted (once I finish this and a few other things, ahahaha) to order some of the Ballerina shade and make myself a pink-and-red Ribbi Cardi. It could either be really really cutesy and cheezy or bright and sporty. Hm.

I can’t say much about this pattern that hasn’t already been said – it’s a relatively quick knit all things considered, not too difficult, and I’m sure it will be comfortable to wear. This one’s destined to be gifted, and it will be hard to part with. My only concern is that I anticipate there will be shrinkage – the blogosphere tells me that Swish (despite being superwash) shrinks in the row gauge. I’ve added a few inches in the length to accommodate this, but only time will tell if it’s enough! Fingers crossed…

3 Comments

Filed under ribbi cardi