Daily Archives: February 2, 2007

Firsts for February

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

February has arrived (eek! my deadlines!) along with the beginning of Project Spectrum. I wasn’t in blog-land during the beginning of this enterprise in 2006, but I’m excited to be here for Take #2. The idea behind it is to get knitters/crafters to focus on different parts of the colour wheel, and to incorporate different colours into their projects (or not.)

February and March are dedicated to Blue, Grey, and White. I don’t currently have a blue, grey or white project on the needles – or at least I didn’t think I did, until I remembered my poor wee Patons Kroy ‘Winter Eclipse’ sock that I started a few weeks ago on a whim and then put down again.

(Potential Project Spectrum subjects.)

I hauled it out and did a few rows on it before bed last night. Do you know what the singular joy of knitting with Patons Kroy is? Well, maybe you do. It’s the fact that Kroy is plump enough that you can knit it on 3.0mm needles. I underestimated the increase in speed that happens when you go from 64 sts on 2.75mm to 60 sts on 3.0mm. Woo hoo! I might actually finish these socks just as a side project! Plus, knitting from my stash, bonus there.

The February Project Spectrum also makes me feel a little reassured and possibly even vindicated for not having finished The Woman in White yet, which was the January selection over at Knit the Classics. (It may be a Victorian gothic potboiler but it is also 700 pages long. I feel some slack-cutting is deserved.) So I am making the bold move of allowing myself to slot that reading into a Project Spectrum project, in the thematic sense.

Me, this morning: “The groundhogs call for an early spring.”
My sister (singsongy): “I don’t believe them.”
Me: “Neither do I.”

In Groundhog Day news, apparently Wiarton Willie calls for an early spring, as does Punxsutawney Phil, although given the way the wind has been blowing through Ontario these days, I’m still holding out some skepticism. And besides, the longer winter lasts, the longer I get to wear my sweaters and socks. ;)

5 Comments

Filed under knit the classics, project spectrum, socks