Daily Archives: February 7, 2007

Finally

I have some prancing to do…

Feb7b 003
(Finished Baudelaires – large size, made with Fortissima Socka on 2.75mm DPNs)

These babies have been lingering on the needles for three months, taunting me with their unfinishedness from the bottom of the knitting basket. Despite all my knitting, I haven’t had a Finished Object in over a month, and my sanity couldn’t take it any more. I sat down yesterday and finished them. Ta da!

If you were here in person, I would probably be pointing out to you where all the mistakes are. “See, here’s where the heel is crooked, and where the toe is wonky, and where I made stupid mistakes all over the lace pattern…” But I don’t mind one bit. These are my first completed toe-up socks, with a heel flap no less, and I knew when I went into it that I was choosing this pattern as a skill-building project. To heck with perfection. I learned one version of a toe-up heel flap, I learned two toe-up cast-ons (Figure 8, which I don’t like as well, and the square toe, which I do like), a new lace pattern, the sewn bind-off, and more things about short rows. The modest intimidation factor of these things was, ultimately, what kept me from finishing them so quickly, but I’m glad I did it. I would knit these again.

(Baudelaires – slightly blurry still life with Hershey’s Kisses)

Have you seen these new Cherry Cordial Hershey’s Kisses? Damn. I am going to have to get me some more of these, I tell you what. You know the sweet, gooey, pink pasty stuff that sits in the bottom centre of a chocolate-covered cherry? Well, they took that crack yummy stuff and put it in the centre of a chocolate kiss. Mmmmmnnnngggghhhhmmmm. This may be the best thing since I discovered dark chocolate Milky Way bars in the States. Excuse me, I think I need to be alone with the bag for a moment…

But one last glimpse at the socks first. ;)

Feb7 008

10 Comments

Filed under baudelaire, chocolate, finished object: socks, socks