Daily Archives: February 26, 2007

It’s Monday already?

I did manage to do one or two non-knitting things this weekend, including another foray into baking – this time, my first attempt at chocolate eclairs. I just keep thinking about the eclairs we used to get at a bakery in the neighbourhood where I grew up…These aren’t quite the same, but they’ll do:

(Mmmm….)

While searching online for recipes I was also shocked and amazed at the number of recipes that tell you to use Cool Whip in the filling. Ugh. ::shudder:: Anyway, I used this pastry recipe and this frosting recipe and used regular whipped cream for the filling. The choux pastry was surprisingly easy, and after that it was just a matter of getting out the mixer to whip things. I think this may actually have been easier than baking cookies.

I also put in more effort on the Kitchen Sink sweater, and have started the back portion of the raglan decreases:

(Everything But the Kitchen Sink sweater, zipping along at lightning speed)

Once I finish the body I think I will pause on this and go back to my socks for a bit. I’m noticing that, even though I’m still keeping the colours pretty random, I do feel myself reaching for yarns in the same kinds of order – I tend to reach for the same purple yarn after a particular red yarn, that sort of thing – and I figure I’ll give myself a creative breather after doing so much so quickly.

Onwards to Monday…

9 Comments

Filed under chocolate, everything but the kitchen sink