Daily Archives: March 20, 2007

Knitting on the brain

Thank you so much for all the lovely comments on my finished EBTKS! It’s such a fun sweater. Everyone could make them. A couple of you were well-meaning enough to comment on how nice it must be to use up all my leftovers! Well, yes and no. I did use a lot of yarn in the sweater, but I still have this left behind:

(Hello, we’re your stash of oddball leftovers that hasn’t quite gone away.)

But now that the the EBTKS has made me aware of this presence, well, it might just be wrist-warmers and knitted change purses ahoy. Gotta be somethin’ to do with all of this, and all in good time.

In other news, my sister recently posted about her tales From The Land of Unfinished, so if you should happen to have knitterly sympathy and are interested in someone new for your Bloglines, do go over and say howdy ;) She also tells of her book purchases – I also added 2 books to the library last week. One was the book Folk Socks, by Nancy Bush. It is, of course, a fabulous collection of sock and knee-high stocking patterns, inspired by many different European textile traditions. Like Lolly, I am indeed smitten with the Norwegian stocking pattern:

(Norwegian stockings, from Folk Socks, by Nancy Bush)

I have no idea where I’d wear ‘em (although they’d darn sure keep my legs warm under my jeans in the cold snaps like we had this past February – oie…), but I want them. There is also a pattern for knee-high kilt hose, which quite frankly I would have merely flipped past in the book had I not already seen these pictures of a finished pair being worn. I think I might have gasped as I followed Lolly’s link to those socks of Terri’s. They are gorgeous, covetable, and 100% the reason why I purchased the book.

The book has other benefits, not the least of which is that it devotes several pages to a written history of sock and stocking knitting, and then several more pages on technique. She shows how to knit a basic sock and then shows you the difference between a few kinds of toes and heels. There is a great deal of knowledge contained in such a small volume.

My only significant complaint about this book is that it contains a dire lack of measurements – the patterns are only given general statements like, “sized for a man,” or “sized for a woman.” Well, but how many inches in leg circumference are you assuming a man or a woman has? It makes it very difficult to know how to substitute yarn or change gauge or add stitches as necessary, without knowing what the frame of reference is.

The other book I ordered was Viking Patterns for Knitting by Elsebeth Lavold. I borrowed my friend K’s copy last August, and even though I know I won’t get to knitting anything from this book any time in the very near future, I had to have my own copy to lick ogle and pore over on my own. I am completely taken with the ‘Ragna’ sweater pattern, and the cover pattern ‘Hervor’ is also beautiful. One of these days I may completely snap, buy an armload of Canadian wool (preferably something purple and heathery), and cast on for one of these. Well, or at least I could, once I get one small mishap cleared up:



Now, I know we knitters love to multi-task, but I don’t think we’ve reached the point where we are capable of actually knitting 2 patterns simultaneously. No, you’re not seeing things in these pics – the copy I received contains a horrific misprint, where about a dozen pages are printed like this with text and image from 2 pages contained in one. Several of the patterns are unscathed (including my precious Ragna), but still – this won’t do. I’ve contacted the book people and requested a replacement copy.

And finally, Happy Birthday wishes to Kelly, who also deserves congrats on the fabulous cabled sweater she just finished for her husband. He looks happy to be wearing it (as he rightly should, of course), and it is a lovely piece. Happy Tuesday to all…

6 Comments

Filed under book review, books