Daily Archives: April 30, 2007

Poppy

And on the occasion of my 100th post, how else to celebrate but with a Finished Object?

April30 004

Inexplicably, I am suddenly fretful, now that I’ve finished. (My sister keeps telling me “it’s FINE. Shut UP.”) Should i not have added length? Is it too big? Are the colours all wrong for me? Did I make too many stripes? Or, this could all be because of the fact that it is now spring and far too warm to wear this now (sob), and my psyche is pouting. ;)

April30 005

Pattern: Poppy, from Yarnplay by Lisa Shobhana Mason (size Medium)
Yarn: Noro Silk Garden #201 (7 skeins) and Noro Cash Iroha in black (4 skeins)
Cast On: March 31, 2007
Cast Off: April 30, 2007

Notes: I had to learn crochet for the finishing touches at the neck and bottom hemline for this sweater – in fact, it is this knowledge that has been impeding me from finishing off that WIP that’s been 99% done on my sidebar since, oh, February, but for some reason I decided to hold off and do the learning on Poppy instead. (Thank you, sister M.) I’m glad I now know some of the ways of teh evol crochet. ;)

The pattern overall is pretty user-friendly. If I were to do it again I would have knitted fewer coloured stripes in the body and left more of it just solid black – I remember as i was knitting the body that it was very, very hard to keep going in endless black without throwing in more stripes. I knitted the sleeves flat and seamed them up later instead of doing them in the round, just out of personal preference. I think the hardest part may actually have been the picking up stitches for the top, just because of the counting and my impatience. I think this would make a good sweater project for just about any skill level.

So, Poppy is done – she is the reason I bought Yarnplay back in January, and I knitted the Kitchen Sink sweater first instead while I waited for the Cash Iroha! I received most of the Silk Garden as a Christmas present from my sister, and admittedly I probably would not have splurged on the rest of the yarn otherwise. Come next winter, it’ll be a nice cozy treat waiting for me in my closet.

And then, to celebrate, I cast on for a little something. (While trying not to wake the sleeping tennis elbow.)
Have a great Monday!

15 Comments

Filed under finished object: sweater, poppy