Daily Archives: May 13, 2007

Happy Mother’s Day!

My sister learned to knit from our mom, and I learned to knit from my sister (although I think there was that time that I tried to learn to knit for a Girl Guide badge when I was 9, which didn’t really take, I think mom must have taught me then), so I would expect there to be some shared genetic knitting traits among us:

1. We all throw stitches.

2. We all have even tension.

3. We all always get gauge. (Okay, this is maybe only 99% true, but it’s pretty close. Please forgive that I may have done a little hairflip while saying that.)

MomKnitting

Here we see Mom in a knitting habitat, knitting socks with yarn dyed from Kool-Aid. I think she was a little skeptical about the Kool-Aid at first, but now she wants to do more. We will arrange this. In her bag is also the ‘Knitting Rules’ book, but I digress.

There are a few key elements that distinguish Mom’s knitting from either mine or my sister’s, which I feel it is my duty to point out:

1. She does not ‘stash.’
This is not to say that she does not have a stash. She does, it’s just that she doesn’t tend to buy yarn for the purposes of stashing. Most of the time she actually buys yarn for a specific project, knits that project, stashes the leftovers, and then buys yarn for the next project. (With the exception of those 2 sweaters’ worth of Philosopher’s Wool she has artfully displayed in a basket in the basement, that I’ve been very good not to bug her about for many months.)

It’s always possible there is a huge stash that I have just never been allowed to see, but I would actually guess that her stash and my stash are not much different in size, and I’ve been knitting for 3 years while she’s been knitting longer than I have existed. Take from that what you will.

2. The majority of her knitting is for other people, not for herself. Seriously, you’ve never seen so many gift sweaters and blankets. Clearly this Knitting Niceness is not genetic, because the majority ofwhat I knit is for me, me, me. Hm.

3. She will knit pretty much anywhere, including board meetings. At said meetings she has been known to have men approach her and ask her how they can learn how to knit.

4. She has knitted sweaters for my father, who is 6 foot 5. And the sweaters fit him.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!

5 Comments

Filed under knitting philosophy