Daily Archives: May 14, 2007

Just add water

That’s what my sister’s been calling this wraparound jacket – it’s virtually an ‘insta-sweater’. I’ve been knitting it for only a week and am just one front piece away from being able to start seaming:

May14 004b

It’s been so long since I’ve knitted on 10mm needles that I’d forgotten how fast they really are. Lickety split. In fact, I’d have probably been finished all of the knitting on this if I hadn’t finally given in to temptation and cast on for something else this weekend:

KiltHose1

Check out that deep, rich purple, man. MMMM. Gimme some. That’s Apple Pie Apple Laine sock yarn in ‘aubergine’. I sure hope 4 skeins’ll be enough for a pair, because that’s how much I’ve got, and it looks like my source is currently out of stock of that colour. I just couldn’t wait any longer. I was so excited to come home and start knitting on it again – so far I’m only just past the lace cuff and have started on the k1 p1 ribbing that’ll snug up underneath the cuff. I’ve had the yarn in my stash since February and I’ve had the ‘Folk Socks’ book to stare at for almost as long, and I simply had to cast on. So what if this breaks my new ‘only 2 WIPs at once’ rule, I’m almost done that 10mm cardi, right? Right. ;)

9 Comments

Filed under socks, sweaters