Daily Archives: May 20, 2007

Wraparound Jacket

Quite possibly the Fastest Knit in the West:

WraparoundJacket1

Yup, it’s pretty darned big. Something like 7 inches of ease, I think? But you know, I almost don’t even care what it looks like. I used up some of the guiltiest part of my stash.

Pattern: “Wraparound Jacket” cardigan from Classic Knits, by Erika Knight
Cast on: May 7
Cast off: May 20
Yarn: Patons Classic Merino (old rose) and Patons Divine (richest rose), doubled, approximately 900 yds of each
Needles: 10mm

I used this pattern to help me with some of the Patons Divine stash (3 colours and about 8 balls each) that’s been marinating for over 2 years. This pink stuff was used in two previous knitting attempts and sat for months unused – finally, it has a home, matched up with the Patons Merino to become the warmest, coziest, floppiest, biggest house sweater I’ve ever owned. I can’t say I’m rushing to model it now, seeing as spring has shown up, but I’m quite sure I’ll be glad for it come next winter when sub-zero temperatures hit and I want something to cozy up in around the house.

I have 1 full ball of the Divine and the Merino left, so I might double them up for a nice chunky hat to use it up. But even so, I’m glad to have the Pink Guilt done with. There is sitll the black and purple Divine to be reckoned with, but this is a great weight off my stash. :)

8 Comments

Filed under finished object: sweater