Daily Archives: June 20, 2007

There will be no dishrag jag

My current state of mind is, shall we say, constantly subject to change. In addition to all the usual dissertation anxieties which all decided to gleefully jump on my head earlier this week, tomorrow I will officially enter the third week of being without my own laptop. I am losing the ability to be patient with other machines, and my sister’s laptop unfortunately does not seem to want to recognize my external hard drive, which is very disconcerting. I miss my laptop desperately, it’s fast, it has all my files and programs on it, and I want it back. ::sob::

June washrags

My knitting, on the other hand, does not give a flying fig what is going on with my laptop. It is just happy that I am knitting. This past weekend I decided to do something purposeless and mindless to match the state of my brain, and fell upon the 4 balls of Peaches and Creme dishcloth cotton that I added to Martha‘s order a few months ago. I promptly churned out 6 dishcloths in 5 days – I almost made it with just the 4 colours, but had to dip into some of M’s leftovers for a bit of green. I see now that the 4 colours I chose did not actually contrast very much with each other. Should I do this again, I’ll look for a broader palette in the mixture of cotton colours. (Not that I don’t like these, though – one is already in use and they have a nice happy look about them.) My original 4 shades:

June washrags

I finished Jaywalker #1 last night and have to cast on #2, to fend off SSS, but was left with another option to cast on for a second WIP. For me at this point, choosing a new knitting project is sort of like being a first-time tourist in Paris and dropped off with a map and guidebook and an entire day to fill with no discernable schedule. There are things I know objectively that I should do (the Eiffel Tower), things everyone else is doing (the Louvre), things I would really like to do but don’t know if now is exactly the right time (that obscure Monet museum off on the outskirts of town), and a whole lot of bustle and noise in between. I went with a combination of objectivity and ease, and cast on for my second Honeymoon Cami.

Honeymoon cami beginnings

I knitted one of these in Luna about a year ago in dark pink, and have had the purple and black sitting there waiting idly ever since. If I play my cards right, I’ll be able to finish this by the weekend. I’m planning on going to Pirates of the Caribbean 3 tomorrow night and will be glad for the stockinette acreage to keep my hands busy for 3 hours + previews. (Stockinette and I are buds. I love stockinette.) And tonight, there is Lettuce Knit. I’m looking forward to it :)

6 Comments

Filed under mason-dixon, summer knitting