Daily Archives: August 21, 2007

The cupcakes will continue

Since cupcakes are one of the few things not currently providing me with stress or anxiety, I have no intention of ceasing to make them. (I will have to continue to find people to help me eat them, but that is another matter). This time I decided to branch out with my own recipe format, based on my favourite drink – the Cosmopolitan. I figured since there are cupcake recipes out there based on teas and coffees and other alcoholic beverages (as for example I did find a margarita cupcake recipe on the webs…and another with amaretto in it that I am itching to make), heck, surely I could take the Cosmo and do something with it in cupcake form. I’m not going to give the full specs of what I did just yet, because quite frankly I believe I can do better and I want another go at it. But, I will say that these got very rave reviews from those who have eaten them.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

The four ingredients in a Cosmopolitan are cranberry juice, vodka, Cointreau, and lime. Anybody who tries to substitute one of those things (or do something terrible like stick a cherry in it or serve it on the rocks or in a highball glass – all things I have experienced while trying to order one out in a bar or restaurant) is either selling you something or settling for less than the perfect drink, in my humble opinion ;) So I was trying to get all 4 of these flavours in there. In the cupcake I used cranberry juice, vodka, and lime zest. The lime and vodka are there solidly but the cranberry was too mild. When I try again I will try to find either some juice concentrate, or dried cranberries, or both. Also, they didn’t rise quite as thoroughly as I would have liked, so I’ll have adjust some things there. I also had to drop in a wee bit of red food colouring for tint, since the cranberry juice didn’t affect the colour and I wanted them to look like something besides vanilla cupcakes. The frosting, though? The frosting recipe I am not touching because it is the best thing I have ever eaten. I had no shame in licking the spatula clean.

Lime-Cointreau Buttercream
(accompaniment for Cosmo cupcakes)

1/2 c butter
4 c confectioner’s sugar
3 T Cointreau
juice from 1 large lime

Blend all ingredients with a mixer and try not to eat the whole bowl. Double this if you want to do a lot of piping or if you are frosting more than 2 dozen cupcakes.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Further bulletins as progress occurs on the cupcake front. There has been some knitting progress lately although it has been slow. I’m on the second sock of my second pair of Monkey socks, this time with Cherry Tree Hill Supersock in ‘Foxy Lady':

Monkey #2

Over and out for now…Today I am chipping away at the boxes and attempting to shore up courage to write. One thing at a time, right? Oh look, it’s tea time…maybe time for just one cupcake, too…

7 Comments

Filed under baking