Daily Archives: September 7, 2007

Rambling

Oof, I’ve been a bad blogger this week – in both the reading and the writing sense. I’ve spent the last 3 days in a row being a Toronto commuter and learning what that’s all about, and let me tell you I don’t know how people manage to do it 5 days a week every week! The getting up at 6am is a new thing for me. My hope is that I’ll only need to go in 2-3 days a week, and not necessarily consecutively, to do what I need to do. I’ll be kept busy on campus quite a bit in September with non-Thesis work as the year starts up again. But damn, I still have to get that draft done. Only smidgeons of writing have gotten through this week (although some is better than none). Can I put through the effort to make this Friday count? Time shall tell that tale…My brain has so far been in a haze all morning.

Knitting, though a bit slower, has been decent this week. I’m almost done block #4 on the Moderne Log Cabin, and it’s taking shape nicely:

Moderne2

It’s going to be super warm and cozy. I’d like to have the fifth block started by the weekend, and I might also just indulge my start-itis and cast on something else for the heck of it. I’ve got more projects on the brain, and itchy fingers. Yesterday a package also arrived for me which is making me think and scratch my head a bit. Way back in July I signed up for the Sweet Sheep’s sock club, as a birthday present to myself. It’s a 3-month set of monthly sock kits, and I thought I’d give it a try since I’ve never done a sock club before and this one was short enough just to get a taste of what it’s like.

SweetSheep1

The pattern is simple but attractive, and I’ll be happy to give that a try. The yarn is the Sweet Sheep’s ‘Sweet Socks’ in a semi-solid called ‘Shamrock’. It’s a nice soft superwash merino/nylon blend, it’s got great yardage (430yds) and is dyed beautifully…but it’s bright green. I have to say that if I were picking out colours for myself, this wouldn’t be something I’d pick. So, hmm. I definitely won’t be knitting this up for myself, so it’s a matter of deciding whether I’ll knit something up as a gift for someone else. I’ll let it sit and percolate.

And on that note…I’ve got the rest of the morning and I haven’t had my tea yet. I should write. I need to write. Of course, what I would like to do is watch Pride and Prejudice for the bazillionth time, or knit, or read recipes, or have a nap….But I should write. I’ll percolate on that, too, while I drink tea and contemplate my new blanket in progress.

Happy Friday!

11 Comments

Filed under mason-dixon, socks