Daily Archives: November 21, 2007

Mirror in the Bathroom

I have been underestimating the skill it takes to stand in front of a mirror and get a good picture of yourself wearing knitted things. Here I thought, hey! Just put the hat on and click, how hard is that? Pah-HAH.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I think that was the best one. There were several on the cutting room floor. Oh here, let me show you some of those too, I’m feeling extra procrastinatory this morning…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I think there were possibly a dozen more after that, that were either too blurry, too dark, or too dorky. And dude, this was with an actual digital camera. How do people do this with camera phones with those cruddy 1.2 megapixel lenses? I am baffled. In any case, none of those got a good shot of the top of the hat (I tried. The results weren’t good):

TamFO

In the interest of full disclosure, I will tell you the reason the hat is folded over is so that I can avoid showing you the horrific charting error I did in the middle of the 5th repeat on the rosette pattern. I am confident that Average Person Walking Down The Street will not notice, though, which is why I did not feel compelled to rip out my 8 colours of yarn to fix it.

But ta da, December Lights Tam from the Holiday Interweave Knits. All in all, a lovely pattern. Super quick knit and a beautiful product. I am just happy the colours I chose worked out, I’d hate for it to turn out like some weird mottled mess.  My only other modification besides colour was that I did the whole thing on 3.5mm instead of 3.25 and 3.0 mm as the pattern says (I think), to make the band a little looser than an 18-inch head-circumference and to come closer to gauge requirement. It was good practice on multi-colour fair isle, seeing as I’m itching to cast on for Venezia still (IK Fall 2006). I am STILL hanging on to Venezia as my reward for finishing my draft, and with my stash as my witness, that will happen before next weekend. It has to. I am not carrying this on into another month, I am so close.

I am also looking forward to the time when I can knit something new, something that is not an enormous blanket (or a thesis draft). These small little suckers are awesome instant gratification. Why did I forsake hats and gloves and mitts and toys? They are the best things ever.

Bee

This is, in fact, a bee for Bea. Knitted cat toy courtesy of Christine Landry’s free pattern, great for using up a bit of ACK-rill-ick still lingering in the stash and soothe wee kittie brains with a bit of catnip at the same time. I placed the finished bee on the carpet and she promptly sniffed it, then clutched it and rolled around for a proper greeting. Awesome.

Happy Wednesday, my friends! May your knitting be close by.

12 Comments

Filed under finished object: accessories, finished object: toys