Daily Archives: January 1, 2008

January? Really?

It’s New Year’s Day already, which must mean that it’s January. (Oh God. Oh God.) And despite the fact that it’s a holiday and there is a nice fresh dusting of cozy snow outside, I have to buckle down and get with the lecture-writing since I only have the barest start on that and my first class is next week. (OH GOD. OH GOD.) So naturally, I have instead been organizing my stash and composing a blog post. Beatrice the cat watched with curiosity and confusion as I sorted through my stash boxes (still largely unchanged since the move), and filled the big-ass Ziploc bags I bought a month ago with the re-sorted yarn. Oh those Ziploc bags, they’re not just for sandwiches anymore. Some of them are big enough I swear I could fit my suitcase inside. They’re sturdy and plastic and – unlike boxes and Rubbermaids – you can see through them and know what the contents are without having to rifle through the whole thing. I look forward to more gigantic Ziplocs in my future.

Jan1 009

But on to the actual knitting content, putting the past year in retrospect and thinking ahead to what’s next. Looking ahead to 2008, I have been considering some New Year’s Resolutions, although few are directly related to knitting. But there are certainly projects that I want to put on my 2008 list:

  • Ragna from ‘Viking Patterns for Knitting’ (the cables will be mine. I will vanquish them)
  • The Brennan Cardigan (I need one for me!)
  • Venezia (oh how I wanted to knit this in 2007 and time just got away from me)
  • More socks (I’ve been a real sock slacker in the last couple of months)
  • At least 2 pairs of knee socks (My Rhinebeck STR is waiting for this purpose.)
  • Something with laceweight (I’ve done lace in small amounts on garments but never yet with actual laceweight.)

I’d like to say I have really exciting and precise goals (like, ‘knit 1,000 Korknisse for charity’ or ‘complete self-designed Aran pullover in 3 weeks or less’, say), but mostly I am just looking forward to continuing with the knitting and finding projects I like, hopefully continuing to build my skill level at the same time. Designing is definitely up there on the list, too. I have at least 1 pattern that has been waiting in the wings for self-publishing and I had thought I would have gotten to that months ago. This has to be made a bigger priority! I want to do more Fair Isle and have been thinking for several months about designing my own stranded colour-work sweater, either a pullover or a cardigan. A few different options are buzzing around in my head and all it needs is more time and thought. In fact, I’ve had miscellaneous design ideas buzzing in my head in general for quite a while, they just need the time and energy for me to get down to work on them.

It’s been a pretty good year, knitting-wise. I suppose stress is a great knitting inducer – my # of FOs is up above 30! All kinds, too – sweaters, socks, miscellaneous small things. I took part in my 2nd ‘TTC Knitalong’ in Toronto, purchased my first ‘real’ knitting bag (a Namaste ‘everyday’ bag), learned how to spin using a drop spindle (thanks, Kate!), and attended Rhinebeck (New York Sheep and Wool Festival) for the first time. I also left Toronto, leaving me LYS-less but forging ahead to yarnish pastures in the Hamilton area and elsewhere and southern Ontario. I redesigned and relocated this blog, and like many other knitters was introduced to the delights of procrastination on Ravelry.

As far as my favourite knits from this past year, the Highland Schottische Kilt Hose were definitely up there. And now that it’s winter again and I’ve had the chance to wear it, I have to say that Poppy is becoming more and more of a favourite. I love it. It’s comfortable, suitable for so many different occasions, and I would knit it all over again with pleasure. I always get compliments on it when I’m out and about.

KiltHoseFO1 April30 005

All in all I am happy with the FOs I’ve produced and just want to keep on adding to my closet. I’d like a couple more pullovers and some more socks, and I’d like to get an earlier start on gift knitting this coming year as well. I am thankful that I have knitting to keep my brain going and to keep me from going nutso from PhD stress. And hey – I got some pretty neat stuff out of it this last year:

Feb7b 003Feb19 003Everything But the Kitchen SinkWraparoundJacket1EndpaperMittsFOKiltHoseFO1Socklets3Inferno4Kratchit CapJune washragsHoneymoonCamiRibby CardiJaywalker1April30 005OnlineTropicColor-Sock1 AfterDark-blocking Monkey1Monkey2FORibby2Finished Basic BlackDarkGems3Endpaper2FinishClapotisFO BeeTamMirrorConvertiblesFinishedKorknisseChristmasSmallModerneFO

I hope I’ll get to more catching up with another post later in the week. Since Boxing Day 2 new WIPs have jumped on the needles in the wake of my finished blanket, and they are bringing me much happiness.

Happy 2008, and to all a good knit!

15 Comments

Filed under stash, year in review