Daily Archives: January 19, 2008

This is the story of a pair of socks

I’d like to offer proof-of-life photos and reassure you that yes indeed, the vest has been steeked, finished, and is still alive, but the darned bugger is still damp from blocking and I haven’t been able to get it on to photograph yet. Soon. Soon. It’s cold and it’s vest-wearing time and that Ivy League Vest pattern is some kind of awesome.

Instead, I have a story. Settle in my friends. It’s been waiting for a while, and I still can’t believe that I, the queen of impatience, haven’t told it yet. I suppose there is just no underestimating what will happen when you are in the grips of dissertation distress. But anyhoo…First we go back to mid-2006-or-so, when I was watching Veronica Mars DVDs and doodling argyle patterns in my notebook. Veronica, as the modern smart girl’s hip-happening almost-Nancy-Drew and general emblematic young woman fashion-plate, wears kicky things like faux-argyle diamonds, or small amounts of argyle on hoodies or cardigans, most often in bright pinks and greens. And all of this seeped into my subconscious, and I kept thinking, you know, what Veronica really needs is a nice pair of mini-argyle socks.

‘Socktoberfest’ 2006 rolled around and I ordered myself a whackload of sock yarn from KnitPicks. It wasn’t until about a year ago that I finally got down to making some socks, all the while with Veronica on the brain, and after a few iterations (one nixed attempt is immortalized up at the bottom left of my blog header, in Apple Laine yarn) I finally had these, in KnitPicks ‘Essential':

Photobucket

Surely Miss Mars herself would approve. I was so pleased with them I sent them off to Knitty for a pattern submission. Sadly they were rejected, but Amy generously suggested that I self-publish. I let the idea percolate until the summer, when I reminded myself that I didn’t really want a pair of mini-argyle socks (or mini-faux argyle – these are 2-colour in the round, not the 3-colour intarsia of argyle tradition), what I wanted was a pair of mini argyle knee-socks. So, I went back again to the needles, this time with some more sedate shades of Knit Picks Gloss. By October, they were done. I managed a few photos on my own, and Beatrice agreed that the finished socks were adequate:

Photobucket

Then, I went out for a run one day and promptly fell and skinned my knee so badly that I began to wonder if my knees would ever be photogenic again. And then winter came on, and the thesis stress was there, and etc etc etc…Until finally we come to this weekend and I batted my eyelashes at my sister long enough for her to nab a few shots for me. Les-voila, the Veronica Knee Socks:

Photobucket

I love them. I adore them to bits and pieces. I have been wanting for months to get the pattern out for sale (as soon as I figure out how to do that), and all it wants is a bit more writing and some sizing instructions. I am hoping that if I post about them now, I’ll work up some sufficient guilt that I won’t let that delay for too much longer. ;)

Photobucket

They are worked top-town with elastic knitted into the single-rib cuffs, feature shaping along a faux-seam running up the back of the leg, a short-row heel, and use 2-colour stranded technique in the round. I used Knit Picks ‘Gloss’ in Black and Burgundy (2 skeins each), and 2.75mm bamboo DPNs for a stranded gauge of 8 sts/inch. They are warm and smooth, thanks to the blend of wool/silk contained in the Gloss. These ones here are made to fit my 15.5-inch shapely calves, to a length of about 14 inches or so between the cuff and heel.

Photobucket

A knit saga almost at the end. Whaddaya think, my knitting friends? Good enough for mass consumption? One thing’s for sure – in these socks, you are sure to be noticed, whether Nancy-Drewing it or no.

Next colour-work installment…the Ivy League Vest, and Why Steeks Aren’t So Bad After All. :)

30 Comments

Filed under design, fair isle, fandom, finished object: socks