Daily Archives: February 6, 2008

Must remember to use brain

This week I’ve only been managing bits and pieces of knitting (including a return to the Korknisse pattern – more on that later when I’ve got pics, also the 2nd knee sock), in between going here and there and furiously clinging to some procrastinatory time. Plus we’re having the 2nd blizzard in less than a week around these parts, so there is sort of a lack of inertia. (Oh yeah, and somehow The Cold never did quite take – I’ve had a few intermittent days of “I’m getting a cold” disease where I think something is going to develop into huge symptoms but never does. ::knocks on wood::)

But in the walking and bus-knitting moments I’ve been going back and listening to that yarncraft podcast with the Yarn Harlot. I never did take it off my mp3 player and I find it sort of inspiring to listen to how she talks about knitting. And then there’s the moment where she talks about the posts on her blog about, say, locking herself out of her hotel room wearing only her underthings, or dropping her shoe out of a window, or whatever, and responding to people who think she’s a moron by saying “Everybody does this. Everybody. We’re all just struggling through our day!”

And this was all extremely comforting to me today when I was trying to find humour in the fact that I – wait for it – left my laptop behind in a cafe. No, I don’t know how I managed to do this. My only explanation was that I had so much crud with me that I had to pack up, and I had let the laptop sit on the table to shut down, and I was rushing to get to a bus with such concern that I forgot to do the step where I was supposed to slide the laptop into the laptop compartment of my bag.

Until two hours later when, after making the bus – that was 25 minutes late – and finally getting home and scraping some of the icy snowy sludge out of the driveway, and then putting the kettle on and petting the cat, and then sitting down to my desk, I finally unzip my bag and discover my laptop cord and a big gaping hole where the laptop should be. And at that point the only possible response is to say OH FUCK (because there is nobody in the wrong except ME ME ME ME damnit why God why did I do this to myself) and dash around madly trying to phone people at the cafes and still try to appear sane even though I have just done something that proves entirely otherwise.

Luckily, the universe is still populated with a few careful human beings, and my laptop was indeed found and held for me just at the very place I had left it. And I got it back.

Knitting to resume shortly. Also the use of the brain.

Because I can’t bear to have an image-less post, and because I have an uncommon amount of affection for this advertisement (despite my cynicism, I think this is actually a lot more progressive than other ads that try to be), I will leave you with this YouTube find:

16 Comments

Filed under real life miscellaney