Yarn saves

If there’s one thing I’ve learned over the crazy 4.75 years I’ve been working on this stinking miserable anxiety-inducing PhD, it’s that knitting has helped me out a lot. It gives me a sense of accomplishment at times when almost nothing else seems to, and that’s sure as heck worth something.

And then there are some times when the knitting part doesn’t seem to even be necessary, and I go directly to the yarn itself. Mmm.

Yesterday when I was in Toronto I marched right on down to Lettuce Knit at lunch hour to see what Socks that Rock was left from their delivery last week. It’s been a long week, tiring and stressful along with the renewed efforts of the cold that I thought I’d gotten rid of last week (I hadn’t), and despite the fact that I know I’ll be in New York next week, and I know full well I’ll be visiting new and bountiful yarn stores, I wanted yarn NOW. I walked out with a few skeins, including this one:

Photobucket

It’s so pretty I love it to pieces. It makes me think of impressionist paintings and tropical lagoons and everything that PhD turmoil is not. I don’t even know for sure what sock pattern I’ll make with it yet. In fact, I may just carry it around with me like a security blanket for the next week. That’s OK, right?

Also, I’d like to thank the weather report for looking like this:

Photobucket

I can deal with the rain. Sure, the rain isn’t ideal, but check out those temperatures. We haven’t had this many consecutive above-freezing days in I don’t know how long. Bring on the snow-melting.

VeneziaMar29

Also, bring on the Venezia. She’s gettin’ there. Two sleeve-cap tops, cutting, seaming, and v-neck edging is all that remains. (Um. I sure hope it fits properly when it’s finished. That would sure suck if it didn’t.)

What are your spring knitting ambitions, my friends? Distract me with your colourful plans. ;)

Onwards!

18 Comments

Filed under fair isle, stash, sweaters, venezia, weather

18 responses to “Yarn saves

  1. Melissa

    OHHHH Venezia is so beautiful. Wow. I really admire your brain+fingers. Surely a PhD is easy next to this kind of knitting! YES, always carry yarn with you for comfort! I’ve got cabin fever from an ongoing log cabin; and am thinking the remedy is to put it gently aside and have a fun, quickish project…got any fingerless glove recipies laying about?

    Onward Indeed, Melissa

  2. Amy

    Venezia is looking great…I can’t wait to see it all finished!

    My spring knitting ambition is to finish the chuppah for my sister’s wedding and then start some summer knitting (either Nicole or the Lotus Blossom Tank, both of which I have yarn for).

  3. barefootrooster

    yarn helps a whole lot with the grad school application process — and i am already planning on counting knitting/yarn expenditure as mental health come fall/the beginning of my PhD program…

    spring ambitions? even though there are lots of things on my needles, i just ran to the yarn store to get provisions to make a pinwheel blanket (from knitalong) as a wedding gift — something about simple, mostly stockinette, sounds very soothing right now.

    venezia is stunning — looking forward to seeing the final product.

  4. The new yarn is so bee-yoo-tee-full!

  5. Moggle

    Beautiful yarn and WOW does venezia look gorgeous or what?

    I’ve got a massive to do list which includes 4 vests – one of which is ivy league and one is crochet and I still have to make up the pattern.

  6. Venezia looks fabulous!

  7. I just need to get through the next couple months without losing my mind (nothing major is wrong, but my kids are driving me up the wall and it’s still too cold to play outside or dig in the garden). Also, I’m hoping to finish a couple pairs of socks. Given how busy I am lately, that would be major!

  8. Wow, I sure hope it fit too.

    I don’t have any ambitions.

    I’m going to eat a tub of frosting now.

  9. Oh, yarn. I just ordered some STR for a sooper sekrit birthday surprise, and I am impatiently awaiting its arrival. In the meantime, I was at a craft fair today and discovered that stuffing a hank of acrylic yarn in a mug, sticking two needles in the top and attaching a photocopied page of instructions on how to knit and purl (from approx. 1956, I think) is considered a “scarf kit” by some people. I am tempted to go into business.

    Also, sea glass jewelry is the new hot item, and I now own some, and it’s truly a thing of awesome.

  10. Kai

    Venezia is stunning. *drools*

    PHd.. hmm, I need to get back to studying. I haven’t done any for a while!!

    Ambitions for Spring – tackle some proper lace, with proper laceweight yarn!!! :) I want to tackle a big colourwork project as well, but that might be next Spring!!

  11. Yarn purchasing can be the best comfort – looks like a great choice too!

    Am super excited for you and your Venezia she is looking a total dream.

    Spring knits for me? Socks socks and more socks – have some Shibui on order from the US :o)

  12. Lin

    Oh, Venezia is gorgeous! Knitting is so good isn’t it for all sorts of reasons, especially stress! I have no spring plans yet, I just want to finish what I have on the needles at the moment!

  13. Meg

    Venezia looks awesome! I can’t wait to see it finished.

    Spring ambitions? The cure for this MAJOR case of wanderlust! I am going on my first business trip in a couple weeks. To a theme park. We have a site in Mass that I get to visit. I’m going with another HRBP who’s from your neck of the woods. Next, in May, I go to Vermont to visit my brother for 10 days. I haven’t seen him in a year and a half. He’s in culinary school and hasn’t been able to come home. After that, in June, I am off to San Francisco for 8 days in June. If that doesn’t cure me, I’m hopeless.

    As for knitting…I am a little overwhelmed with needing a ton of baby items tout suit! A birthday gift and housewarming gift for the BFF, a dog sweater, and a sweater for my mom. But I finally broke down and bought 3 EZ books, which should make my life so much easier.

  14. Pam

    Venezia! Wow! Just…wow.

    Also that yarn is so gorgeous I’m physically restraining myself from grabbing my debit card. And I generally don’t even like blues.

    My spring knitting ambitions? I am in full-blown “get it off the damn needles” mode and I am finishing as many WIPs as possible before Maryland S&W. Why? Because the moment I get all that new yarn I will no longer want to finish those “old” things and they will waste away in a bin for another year.

    Thank you, pregnancy-induced manic phase.

  15. ladyoctavia

    Ohhh it is stunning!! *fingers crossed for fit*

    I know the feeling, kitting makes me feel like I’m not wasting my existence, after you’ve knit mittens or a hat or scarf or socks no one says what are you going to do with that? – they may wonder why I didn’t buy them instead, but at least everyone accepts the value and usefulness of the product. (As opposed, to say, a PhD in old norse literature…)

    Do you know if Lettuce Knit carries the sheep2shoe kits?

  16. Ann

    Wow – Venezia looks fantastic! I really admire you – doing a PHD & knitting such a complex project – I would not be able to it. But I do believe that knitting is relaxing as it does for me after a long hard day. Knit on…

  17. I would be really happy if I could finish something this spring. And make something pretty and something I’d actually wear. Like a silk scarf (I have a skein of Handmaiden Sea Silk I got through a swap which is perfect) or a little camisole. Or maybe a cardigan. Or maybe I shouldn’t be so ambitious. ;) I’d love to make a pair of lacy knee highs, too. *sigh*

    Venezia is looking perfect. I really hope it fits too! But let’s not ponder the possibility of it not fitting. We might jinx it.

  18. I’m itching for some warmer weather too….we have nice sun, but still chilly!

    V is looking amazing! almost there!!!