Daily Archives: April 1, 2008

Inexplicable, Part 1

It’s 11pm and I’m in my pyjamas running around trying to stuff things in my suitcase necessary for a) 4 days in New York and b) temperatures of 10 degrees Celsius, which I’ve almost forgotten what that’s like. And I’ve got to do an apology because i’ve been horrible with responding to comments and emails the last few days and my brain just hasn’t been able to cope.

Also, I’m having a bit of a drinkie because I’ve still not fully come to terms with the fact that my dissertation is no longer in my hands, Venezia is still not fully dry after laying out all day (I put her on spin in the washer and laid her out on a drying rack and am crossing all fingers and appendages for transportability tomorrow), and I’m so overtired from stress that I don’t think my brain remembers what bodily relaxation is like.

But by this time tomorrow i’ll be in another city and that will help matters I am sure. When I booked my ticket to New York a couple of months ago I knew I’d be hitting the right time to see the Yarn Harlot on April 2nd and that I’d be missing her in Toronto on April 1st, and yet the bizarre series of circumstances that has been causing me other stress the last few weeks also led to me being in Toronto today, and with a free evening. So I got to go. It was fun. I tried my best to let my brainwaves come down from Beta (concentration, stimulation), and move into Alpha (no concentration required) and perhaps even Theta (meditative state…still working on that one…)

The Isabel Theatre was lovely for waiting in.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I am super proud of my see-stor Martha who totally scored 4th place in the Inexplicable Knitter Behaviour Toronto scavenger hunt. Yay! (Seen here with Kate on the right who accompanied her for the afternoon. Martha totally got a TTC driver’s picture too, which I think rocks.)

Photobucket

And we got serenaded by the Skydiggers beforehand. Or is it a concert? Is it a serenade if it’s for 300 of your closest knitting friends? I have a vid clip here that I took of their first song and it was really so lovely to listen to that I want to share it. I hope they won’t mind. (But if someone tells me to yank it down I totally will.)

I’ll have my camera but not my laptop on my travels so I may not be able to blog much…but I’ll do my best for Venezia pics and New York pics and all assorted yarny tales. Rebecca is going to make sure we get to Knitty City and Seaport Yarns, along with all touristy attractions.

Catch you on the flip side, knitters!

15 Comments

Filed under knitting humour, knitting in public, knitting tourism