Daily Archives: April 8, 2008

Magknits and Basic Black

I found out this afternoon via a Ravelry user that Magknits is no more – the patterns are all gone. The real question now is how to access the patterns now that the online Magknits archive has been taken down.

I received a question about my ‘Basic Black pattern, and thankfully I have my own computer files with pattern notes and also a printed copy from post-publishing (I think…I know my mom is knitting this…), so I should be able to recreate the pattern and post it as a free PDF either here or on Ravelry, or both.

There were many fine patterns archived at Magknits and I hope they will live on in another format! My heart goes out to all the knitters and designers who were relying on this site.

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Knitting takes New York

I am working on some book review notes (somehow I have managed to get backed up and have 4 to do -eek! book reviews ahoy in April), so rest assured this week’s blog content will be filled with more than just New York City things…but I couldn’t resist just one more with some pictures from around Manhattan. I took the sock (Jaywalker pattern, in Lorna’s Laces) along wherever we went and finally decided to try my hand at this sock picture business. And truly, it’s a fun challenge!

Some are sock pictures, and some are just pictures. Enjoy!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Also, knitting a blue, green, and purple sock is just the ticket for spring. Colour really is very soothing.
Knit on, my friends!

5 Comments

Filed under knitting in public, knitting tourism