Daily Archives: April 19, 2008

Tourism isn’t the same without yarn

1. Would someone with knowledge of how to locate former Magknits patterns outside of Ravelry be so kind as to leave some suggestions in a comment? I would be ever so grateful. I’ve had a couple of comments asking how to find [X Magknits pattern] and I’m still away from home this week and without the mental wherewithal to dig up that information…Also it occurs to me that this is darned useful information to know about for knitter-kind in general.

2. Lemme tell ya about visiting Boston. Well actually, I can’t fully talk about Boston yet, because most of what I’ve seen of it so far has been the downtown hotel/shopping/eating complexes where my conference has been staged. I made the executive decision to break free from it at lunch yesterday, doing more than just lunch-break walking and bits of cafe knitting. I moseyed on down to the Museum of Fine Arts, which though (sad to say) a little paler in comparison to the NY Metropolitan Museum of Art, does have some fine precision curating going on. I took a few pictures (sadly sockless, as I was between 1st and 2nd sock at this point) and enjoyed some cafe respite afterwards.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

3. There have been some yarn incidents. I visited Windsor Button on a lunch break and may have fallen down and blacked out near the Berrocco Ultra Alpaca. Then yesterday I went down to Needham and took in the Black Sheep Knitting Co and the sock yarn jumped off of the shelf and flung itself at me. I am telling you, a tired tourist knitter only has so much willpower left in reserve, accidents like this are bound to happen, right?

Photobucket

(Madeleine Tosh, Sunshine Yarns, and Mountain Colors Bearfoot – all items I don’t tend to come across at home. I had to. Right? RIGHT?)

Today I’m going to try to get on over to Cambridge and see Mind’s Eye Yarns, where I hear the sock yarn selection eats all other sock yarn selections for breakfast. I may not survive. I may need to plan lots of cafe and chocolate visits for fortification. But then I also hear there are one or two other things worth seeing in Cambridge besides yarn, so that might help too.

4. I had an almost-travel-crisis on my first full day in town, when I lost my wallet. (I got it back! Stand down panic, Mom and Dad!) I was fortunate enough to have lost it among academics, and have it returned to me via the help desk with all contents intact and accounted for (!). But this is the first time I’ve ever had to engage my backup system which involves stashing my 2nd (rarely used) credit card and some extra cash in my room and not on my person. My preparedness, it surprises even myself sometimes.

Catch you in a couple of days, my friends! Pet some yarn for me.

17 Comments

Filed under knitting tourism, socks, yarn stores