Daily Archives: July 1, 2008

On a Summer’s Day

It’s Canada Day today, and fellow Canadians across the country will be celebrating in all manner of summer frivoloty, red-and-white, fireworks, etc. So far I have celebrated by sleeping in until 10, and working up the nerve to go for a run while writing a blog entry instead. It’s actually a gorgeous day outside, highs of 25 C are predicted and the humidity is down to nearly nothing, which in southern Ontario in the summer is just about cause enough for a holiday on its own. I’m looking forward to a day of leisure, and am regretting not going out for more margarita mix yesterday…

Time sure does fly when you’re doing as little as possible. Monday was a holiday for my university and many others so I pretty much took that as an excuse to have a 4-day weekend and have been enjoying a lot of cooking, baking, and socializing. Knitting has been there on the side but it’s a slow haul at the moment. I’m on a deadline and have to concentrate on this pair of gift socks before the recipient leaves the country.

SupervisorSocks

It’s a basic 64-stitch, 3×1 rib on the leg and top of the foot, which is fast becoming my go-to approach to Socks That Rock in the absence of any other ideas. They’re a gift for my academic supervisor, who quite frankly deserves many many more knitted socks than these, and I plan to not make this the last pair. She picked the colour from 3 offerings and I hope she likes them (this colourway is Jail House Rock). A year and a half ago I gifted her with a knitted sweater, though, so I think I’m doing pretty well in the knitted karma area. She’s leaving the country to take a new position for at least a year, which means I won’t get to go sit quivering in her office clinging for advice any more (unless via email, which although often effective lacks the sofa and sunny window), and yes it’s all well and good that I’ve got the PhD now and am supposed to be a grown up and she’s getting all the awesome opportunities an awesome academic should get, but WAH WAH NO FAIR.

Ahem. So I gotta finish these socks today, or at least come darned close. Then summer of shawls can resume. What is in your summer knitting queue, my friends, gift or otherwise?

Whether you have a holiday or no, I hope your knitting is close by and that you have a summer beverage to go with it.

11 Comments

Filed under socks