Daily Archives: August 12, 2008

Oh those Halcyon days

And that’s a wrap, folks.

HalcyonFO6

Pattern: Halcyon, by Lisa Lloyd in the book ‘A Fine Fleece’.
Yarn: Briggs & Little Regal (light worsted), in ‘turquoise’, just under 6 skeins total. It’s a sheepy sheepy wool, so sheepy that you will regularly encounter bits of straw and grass, etc, but is a bang for your buck at $5-6 for 270 yards. Also, mmmmm, wool.
Needles: 5.0mm for the cables, 4.0mm for the ribbing. (I worked all the cables without a cable needle, which turned this into a surprisingly portable project as it is worked in pieces, and eventually the cables become memorizable).

HalcyonFO4

Cast-on/Cast-off: I started this in the end of April, which gives this about 3.5 months for the project, but that included several stints of on-again-off-again knitting and a re-start of the back piece to give it a bit of shaping.
Modifications: The only changes I made were to knit the 2nd smallest size to begin with on the back/front, then decrease after about 2 centre panel repeats to end up with the smallest size at the waist and bust. Other than that, I completed it exactly as written, and the instructions were clear.

This is a long sweater. I ended up with about an extra inch of length, which is fine for me because I’m 5’9″ and can handle a bit of extra length (I often count on a slightly looser row gauge as a built-in lengthening modification on sweaters that would normally be meant for a shorter frame). However, if you’re significantly shorter than me then even the intended length of 26.5″ might be longer than what you want. My recommendation is to measure yourself, measure your gauge, and adjust accordingly by omitting a few rows at the beginning. (I rather like the way the cable ends at the collar).

HalcyonFO

Although the fit is generally good, I think my blocking may have been a bit too aggressive and for the next go I’ll probably try to get a smidge less ease. Any way you slice it though, this is a comfort aran and meant for wrapping you up on cool days. I’m happy with it now but probably won’t fully appreciate it until November.

While I did take a few months to work on this and probably could have done it in less time fairly easily, I’m glad in retrospect that I gave it those little vacation breaks now and then. Sometimes you want to knit cables for hours and hours and sometimes you don’t. I saw on Ravelry that someone has this on the books for their Olympic knitting project, and dude, all I can say is godspeed and may your cabling be swift.

I will, however, strike a pose, and celebrate a completed project well done.

HalcyonFO2

(Photo credits, as per usual, go to my lovely patient sister.)

Onwards!

34 Comments

Filed under cables, finished object: sweater