Daily Archives: November 6, 2008

More knitting minutiae that you may need to know

Today I met a knitter on a city bus, who turned out to be Michelle. I recognized her as a knitter right away since she was wearing a beautifully executed Kauni cardigan, and we chatted a bit but of course as the fates would have it I did not have my camera and alas, the encounter goes undocumented. But still! We knitters, we live in a wonderful and bizarre world that contains such encounters.

I’ve been having one of those weeks where all of a sudden a week has gone by and I do not quite understand how it could have gone by, because I’m not entirely sure what I have to show for it. Also, my camera and I are in a bit of a disagreement right now (it says it has no memory, I say YES YOU DO, but alas the disagreement continues), so I am unable to give you any photo-documentation in this upcoming list of Seven Things About Me (Steph did hers with photos because she is cool). But I did think it would be fun to make a Seven Knitting Things About Me list to make it a bit topical for the blog, so here we go:

Seven Knitting Things About Me

1. I keep all bits of yarn, even the tiny little ends I snip off from sewing in after finishing. I save them up in a little box because I learned, while sharing a house with Miss Beatrice the Cat, that little bits of yarn make excellent squishy wooly stuffing for cat toys.

2. I avoid kitchener stitch like the plague. Every single pair of socks I have ever knitted top-down (except for the very first pair), I have finished by fully binding off the last sts on the toe, then grafting the bound-off stitches closed with the end of yarn. it does add a bit more agonizing time to finishing, but hey, it gives me a bit sturdier toe to work with, it looks exactly the same, and I get to continue avoiding kitchener stitch, lalalalalala….

3. In my knitting kit (a zippered, sturdy, rectangular pencil case purchased at IKEA), you will find:
- a tape measure
- ends of yarn
- endless stitch markers
- scissors
- DPNs in 4 sizes from 2.25mm to 3.0mm
- a crumpled up Hershey’s kiss wrapper from that time I tried to throw it to the garbage and it bounced and missed

4. My favourite things to knit are sweaters and socks. I have started to occasionally branch out into shawls, but generally I need to be practically smacked upside the head to remember that there are in fact other useful (and generally quicker) things to knit, like oh, say, hats, mittens, gloves, scarves and wristwarmers. I’m going to try to spend November finishing the current sweater and then devoting some knitting time to accessories before instantly starting The Next Sweater.

5. The first thing I ever knitted (about 4 years ago now) was a baby blanket as a gift for a friend. So far, this is the only baby blanket I have ever knitted.

6. Sheepy wool is my yarn kryptonite. Doesn’t matter at all that I have several sweaters’ worth of sheepswool at home. Gimme.

7. I have a basket full of sock yarn that fills me with such hopeful glee with all its colours and promise of Wonderful Sock Knitting Ahead that I can’t possibly feel stash guilt over it. It’s my basket of happy colour and I don’t care how long it takes me to knit my way through it. In fact, if I did start to knit my way through it, I’d probably have to start buying more sock yarn again so that the stuff left behind would have company.

Tag! You’re it! Go ahead and post Seven Things About YOU.

17 Comments

Filed under meme