Daily Archives: November 13, 2008

One more thing

It hit me that I never did do the “rest of it” photos post from my New York City trip in October. Sure, Rhinebeck and wool festivals are well and good, but I’ve heard rumours that it’s possible to experience NYC without buying yarn. (I’ve heard).

This isn’t to say that we didn’t do a bit of that too, though. On Friday afternoon we went up to Knitty City (after stuffing ourselves with sandwiches and scones at Alice’s Tea Cup…whose Upper West Side establishment is lovely but whose Upper East Side location was sadly filled with screaming birthday parties and which I cannot recommend nearly as much), then headed up to the yarn.

I really do love Knitty City. Their yarn selection is great and they have such a combination of knowledge and patience and friendship that you just can’t manufacture. I’ve only been there twice now and yet I feel like it’s been many more visits than that.

Photobucket

On Friday evening we walked through Grand Central Station. It really is both grand, and central.

Photobucket

On Sunday, in our post-Rhinebeck states, Rebecca took us up to the Cloisters. It’s a bit of a trek to get up there, but we really did luck out and had the perfect day to do it, weather-wise. It’s a lovely spot, sort of beautiful and bizarre at the same time. It’s a real cloister…and yet not a real cloister. Tranquil and serene, yet purposefully constructed. Fascinating.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The flagship pieces of artwork are the ‘unicorn’ tapestries, all of which will change your idea of what it is possible to create with little bits of string.

Photobucket

We left the tapestries room thinking things along the lines of, “you know if you’re not working at a gauge of twenty stitches to the inch, you’re just not trying hard enough,” and “gee fair isle looks pretty frickin’ easy right about now.”

When you go to either the Cloisters or the Metropolitan Museum of Art, you are granted free admission to the other site on the same day. Well, we weren’t going to turn down that kind of challenge. We didn’t let the early Sunday closing time stop us, and got back down to the Met in time to sneak into the temporary American Wing before it closed. (This is the stuff I didn’t see the last time).

Ahhh, Tiffany Glass, just what I was missing in my life:

Photobucket

This was the spot that I enjoyed the most, and now that the trip was a month ago I can’t remember all of the artist details, except to say that this was a circular room which had 2 semi-circular murals painted to fit. They showed (I believe) the gardens from Versailles, and you could stand in the room and feel surrounded by the gardens.

Photobucket

Pretty darned brilliant if you ask me. I could have sat there for ages. Too bad they hustled us out right after that. At least the reflecting pool by the Temple of Dendur was on the way out:

Photobucket

Thanks, New York! Let’s do it again sometime.

3 Comments

Filed under knitting tourism