Everlasting Love

My love for Noro, it continues unabated.

These two skeins of Silk Garden Sock decided that they did not, in fact, wish to be socks, but a garter ridge scarf instead. How could I say no to this face?

Photobucket

I cast on on Friday afternoon while hanging at the Purple Purl with Martha and Lisa, after a very leisurely tour of Queen St. and Indian buffet lunch. (Mental note: do this more often). I put pedal to the medal (aided in large part by Second Sock Syndrome on some gift socks), and finished it up on Tuesday.

Photobucket

I cast on 370 sts on a 4.0mm circular needle, and alternated yarns every 5 rows. I combined shades #252 (black/blue/green) and #87 (pretty much every colour there is), stopped when I thought it was OK, and I love the effect. There was some minor surgery involved, admittedly. I yanked out some of the green section of the #252, as it was a bright shade that clashed a bit too much with the yellowish green of #87. Other than that, smooth sailing. It’s long enough to loop comfortably once around my neck and still have some ends hanging to my waist.

I’d do this again in about two seconds flat with the regular Noro Silk Garden, for a chunkier “real” scarf. This scarf is slim for an accessory style scarf to pair with a sweater or jacket, which is something I’ve been wanting to knit for ages and ages. There’s a bit of each shade leftover and I’m starting to be hopeful that it might be enough for a wee striped beret or similar. Time will tell! In the meantime I had better get some more gift knitting off of my conscience.

How’s your December knitting going?

16 Comments

Filed under finished object: accessories

16 responses to “Everlasting Love

  1. Lin

    I love Noro, I have some Kureyon that I am going to make a blanket with. The colours in your scarf are so nice.

  2. Swoon. I share your love for Noro, and that scarf shows it off splendidly.

  3. Oh, I love this — great idea!!

  4. That’s such a great scarf! I am confused, though. How will you send it to me if you don’t have my address?

  5. Just gorgeous! I don’t know about that bit about casting on 370 (!!) stitches, though.

    My Dec. knitting is coming along, but I need to have some serious knitting time this weekend if I’m going to get everything done. Scarves, mittens, and hats, oh my!

  6. Pretty scarf! I love Noro too. My December knitting has been slow. Take now for instance, I’m using my free time catching up on Ravelry and my blog reading when I need to be finishing a gift scarf. I’m off to do some knitting. Time’s a tickin’.

  7. Ann

    Love the colors of the scarf. No Christmas knitting for me, so I am more relaxed this month.

  8. i am way too far behind on my christmas knitting. i wish i could just crank out a scarf but it takes me so long to get it done with!

  9. I love the scarf, and the fact that it is knitted sideywaysie!! Beautiful colours!!

  10. Mmm pretty – I am still hankering after some Silk Garden sock – mind you I haven’t knit my Kureyon sock yet – still enjoying it in the skein too much! As for December knitting – I’ll get there but there’ll be no side projects for me!

  11. maurimoii

    Pretty!

    I’m alternating between Eiffel and a pair of a socks, depending on which annoys me less minute to minute, and looking forward to all the casting-on I can do when I have access to my stash again.

  12. Elizabeth L in Apex, NC

    Very, very nice! Although I’m with Jodi, casting on 370 sounds actually painful. As for Christmas… I’ve had to stop for the last couple of days to prepare for a bash at my house on Saturday. But Sunday afternoon I’m back to it – my hands are sad with lack of knitting!

  13. Wow, that does look beautiful. Excellent use of yarn and its inherent strengths!

  14. Tina

    Beautiful! I absolutely love Noro, it knits up so nicely. I too have lots of knitting to catch on – guess I better get with it.

  15. I second that thought about repeating the Indian food/yarn crawl! The scarf looks great – maybe A Famous Internet Knitter will see it and it will soon become all the rage ;)