Daily Archives: February 2, 2009

Silent Poetry Reading

For the last few years bloggers out there have been doing the Silent Poetry Reading in honour of St. Brigid, patron saint of poetry, on February 2nd, and every year I forget about it until it is too late. I am all too distracted by the Groundhog Day association (apparently 3 of the key North American groundhogs all predict a longer winter, so I guess that settles that). But this year, I have remembered, ta da!

The first poetry I was ever exposed to came from children’s books, of the Dr. Seuss and A.A. Milne variety, but there was also Shel Silverstein. I still have several of his humorous ones memorized, and still think they’re brilliant. I’ve been having trouble choosing one, but in the end – short and sweet is always good on a Monday, yes?

Early Bird

Oh, if you’re a bird, be an early bird
And catch the worm for your breakfast plate
If you’re a bird, be an early early bird -
But if you’re a worm, sleep late.

(From ‘Where the Sidewalk Ends’, 1974)


Get out there and catch the worm, my friends. (Or sleep late).

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized