Daily Archives: February 16, 2009

Dee Cee: The First Part

You’re all on notice. Even those of you who have never heard of DC are on notice. How could you all let me go to DC when there was an exhibit featuring Obama and Lincoln’s faces drawn out of cupcakes, and nobody told me? Woe! I could have been there at the Smithsonian, admiring and enjoying and deliciously de-installing it like the 5,600 some people who would have had to devour it. Sigh.

But I can’t complain, really, because my Saturday and Sunday were great. I arrived bleary on Saturday morning and Liz picked me up from the airport and we meandered our way to three different knitting spots in the DC environs. She’d done research through Ravelry chatter and word of mouth, and had a long list of 7 and a short list of 3. We only made it to the short list, but it was lovely. More to save for next time.

Photobucket

Our first stop was at Knit Happens, which was bustling with Saturday shoppers and chatter. This store came well recommended, and I have to admire a store with both a great sock yarn selection and a big table for sitting and knitting. My wallet met its fate at the sock yarn shelf indeed, and I walked out with some Neighbourhood Yarn Company (local to the area), and some Lorna’s Laces in an unfamiliar (to me) colour called Maple Grove. My Lorna’s Laces collection-for-Jaywalkers continues.

Photobucket

My sister is now looking at this total haul thinking, “that’s all?” Indeed, I showed a moderate amount of self-restraint, though I did add a few needles and bits and bobs from various stops. I collected a couple of tiny cable needles which were just Altoids-tin sized, and a set of 2.25mm (labelled only as Size 1, and I had to do my metric-to-American conversion in the wilds of Virginia yarn shops…) at the next stop which was Aylnn’s Woolgatherer. This wasn’t a storefront shop so it took us a bit of searching and a helpful phone call to discover we had to go up to the 3rd floor of a building in a shopping plaza, but once we ascended the selection was lovely. Lots of nice standard faves as well as a wide selection of notions and magazines. When I inquired about the new issue of Interweave Knits, the women there were ready to sell me their lone preview copy if I was in desperate need (I graciously declined), so I call that some good solid knitterly dedication.

Photobucket

Our final Saturday yarn stop was a little harder to find (curse you Google directions), but once we got there the browsing factor was high. I spent a long, long time looking at the sock yarn shelves once again, and escaped with the muted Caribou Club shade of Cherry Tree Hill (more Charades perhaps), and Liz left happily with some Ultra Alpaca Light for a spring Clapotis. I’d certainly return to all three of these spots.

Sunday we sat around and had a knitting morning, then ventured out to the Capitol in the afternoon, thus bridging the knitting and touristing portions of the weekend quite well. (Note: the Museum of the American Indian is recommendable not only for the thoughtful exhibits but also for the spicy hot chocolate. Mmm.) Today it’s off to the National Mall and further sightseeing. Have fun if you’ve got a holiday today, and if not, keep the knitting close by anyhow!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

11 Comments

Filed under knitting tourism, yarn stores