Daily Archives: February 26, 2009

Mmmph.

This is about exactly my state of mind this week. I have remembered that the only problem with having a break is that the re-entry to the real world is more of a crash-landing than a gentle refresher. I’ve been going pretty well straight since Sunday, and next week I get to be rewarded with – wait for it! – more of the same! Oie vey, how many more weeks until the end of term? How many more lectures to write and assignments to grade? Let’s hope I make it.

All of this makes knitting ever so much more appealing, and I keep trying to remind myself not to forget about the Small Projects. I love sweaters (and am admittedly mentally admonishing myself for getting to the end of February with only one completed sweater…there are currently at least 5 in my head and I’d figured I’d at least have started one of them by now past the swatching stage), but the small stuff really does have the instant gratification going for it.

On my weekend in DC (now so distant at almost 2 weeks away…::sob::), I started and finished a Koolhaas hat, with the Tanis Fiber Arts ‘Green Label’ aran weight purchased a few weeks ago, and lo, it is good. There’s a sister skein of this deliciously bright, stubbornly cheerful, pink ‘Royal Flush’ colour that only needs me to turn it into mittens and I’ll have a nice set to round out the end of winter.

Either the bright shade is resisting photographic stability, or it’s mimicking my general state of mind, because out of two photo sessions half the pictures came out a bit fuzzy.

Photobucket

Hmmm, well that’s not quite right. Perhaps from the top…

Photobucket

Almost but not quite. Perhaps an outdoors shot from the side?

Photobucket

That’s a bit better. I have to give my props to Jared Flood for a brilliant pattern. I worked all the cable twists without a cable needle which made everything quite speedy, and completed most of it while sacked out on Liz‘s couch watching DVDs and gearing up for sightseeing, so you know that means it’s a good pattern if I could do it on minimal brain cells. (Mental note: good current criteria for knitting. Hmm…)

The yarn itself is lovely, quite sturdy, superwash, and beautifully dyed. If I could manage the cash I’d stock up a sweater’s worth, but I think the standout Tanis Fiber Arts colours make it a great candidate for small accessories. Next step…mittens? Time will tell.

Here’s looking forward to the weekend for some quality yarn time and battery-recharging. I do have to get buttons on the Blooming Cardigan (attempt #1 has turned out not quite up to snuff. I can do better!), and I am inching towards finishing up a sock design project that I’ve had under wraps for far too long and I am just twitching, waiting to share it with all of you.

Weekend soon. Soooooon….

10 Comments

Filed under finished object: accessories