Daily Archives: March 17, 2009

Sometimes you win

Every year when Roll up the Rim rolls around at Tim Horton’s, there are people who seem to win left right and centre. There are all sorts of people collecting up the donuts and coffees, taking home the cash…The caretaker in my office sat at a sports game a few rows behind a guy who won one of the few big screen TVs. Those little paper cups are tiny little potential goldmines of elation. Some people even collect them to redistribute to the homeless, and apparently there is much debate raging about whether British Columbia and Alberta have been unfairly advantaged in their odds of winning the grand prize.

Dudes, I don’t need a car, or a big screen TV. But the little tiny winning rim sure is bright and shiny when it happens. I got my first one in a few years yesterday, and will happily turn my coffee win into a nice free cup of tea:

Photobucket

But let me tells ya, a free cup of anything is just about cause for celebration, as is the soothing mostly-stockinette of my Climbing Vines Pullover (zipping along nicely – another weekend should complete most of it). I’m on the homestretch of my heaviest teaching semester ever, and folks, I’m flagging. I’m close enough to look out and see the end, but not so close that I don’t still have lectures to write or that I can just imagine away the mountain of grading that still waits for me. It’s a long treadmill that will certainly be a little easier the next time I get on it, but still. No getting around it, I’m tired.

Me and my free cup of tea, we’re going to clutch the cheerful green Climbing Vines Pullover on the bus today, and add things to the “Things to do in April When I’m Done Teaching” list. It’s helping a lot.

What knits are you dreaming of? And have you ever rolled up the rim and won?
Happy Tuesday, my imaginary knitting friends – here’s hoping Friday comes soon!

19 Comments

Filed under real life miscellaney, sweaters