Daily Archives: April 2, 2009

Socks, socks, socks / Stash, stash, stash

Dear blog readers, it has been 29 days since my last yarn purchase. In this season of winter sales and new spring yarns it’s been hard to resist, but a knitter’s gotta do what a knitter’s gotta do – especially with the DKC Knitter’s Frolic coming up at the end of April. There’ll be plenty of purchasing to be done there, that’s for sure. I’m already making a list of vendors I want to look at first, and planning projects for the spring knitting time.

But now there’s this tiny little event on the horizon for August (you may have heard one or two people mentioning it), and since this is going to involve a bit of saving up and yet further shopping opportunities (I can only imagine what that vendors’ hall is going to look like), Rebecca and I have issued a mutual challenge: No more sock yarn purchases until the Sock Summit.

Now, we are not pure cold heartless non-stashers. (Hah! Me, a non-stasher? Have we met?) All other yarn is still fair game. And we are allowing each other 2 free passes of sock yarn purchases, just to be terribly generous. Rebecca has gone and taken this to the next level of personal guilt and taken a photograph of all of her sock yarn stash, to encourage her a bit further.

Photobucket

My friends, I can tell you right now, I will not be taking a photograph of all of my sock yarn stash. I know how many pairs I could knit from that stash, and well…I’m OK with that even though it makes me twitch just a little bit. All I have to do is close my eyes and I can see the stash closet in all its yarny glory. But the fact of the matter is, I do have more sock yarn than one person reasonably needs, and I just hate to think of it all sitting there waiting endlessly to be knit, growing shadowier and falling into permanent slumber.

My tactic, therefore, is to keep an ‘in’ and ‘out’ tally of my socks for the year – the ‘out’ side of the list is all the pairs I have knitted so far this year, the ‘in’ side is the # of pairs’ worth of yarn I have purchased since New Year’s. At the moment, the ‘in’ side is definitely winning. This is my goal: To have the ‘out’ list out-number the ‘in’ list before the Sock Summit comes calling. I need to get back to some of those neglected skeins, and knit ‘em up before new stashlets come home to roost.

This can be done. I will do it. Sock stash rediscovery shall be mine.

Photobucket

To get this party started, I’m turning to my freshly purchased copy of Nancy Bush’s Knitting Vintage Socks (I knew 9/10ths of the knitting blogosphere couldn’t be wrong – there are at least 4 pairs in here I’d like to knit right now), and have dusted off a long-stashed skein of Schaefer Anne for a pair of Gentleman’s Fancy Stockings. It’s a start.

Now if I can just add more hours into the day, I’ll have no trouble with the rest.

What sock pattern do you want to knit today?

21 Comments

Filed under socks, stash