The Reckoning

Dear Elspeth,

I know that you’re probably very busy doing things like your “job” or important things in the “real world” or that you might even have “other knitting” to do besides work on Autumn Rose. Still, I am compelled to point out that I am knitting on Autumn Rose and so far, you are not, and here I was given to understand that were both in on this together. Fair Isle solidarity and all that jazz.

Photobucket

Now, I feel that I’ve been pretty patient up until now. After zipping through most of the body I gave myself a bit of a break, allowed myself to be distracted by Cat Bordhi, even went off to a conference and did some “real world” stuff of my own.

But I’m back at the Autumn Rose knitting now, and have now reached the point where the sleeves join the body for work in the round, which puts me in the enviable position of knitting rounds which are only ever going to get shorter from here on out. And at great risk to my own knitting karma, I feel the need to point out that I am currently LEAVING YOU IN THE DUST. My wooly, stranded colourwork dust.

Photobucket

At this point my only recourse is to keep knitting, knowing that at this rate I may well finish before you even start, and either a) take up heavy drinking in order to assuage my guilt, or b) dance around the house clutching my knitting calling “neener neener neener” in my best sing-songy voice. And both of those options are pretty much giving free reign to the knitting goddess to come strike me down with a sweater that doesn’t fit, or cause me to run out of a crucial colour an inch before the end, or plague me with horrible Knitter’s Elbow, or some other such retaliation.

C’mon, Elspeth. Lonely fair-isle knitting is soooo lonely. You know you wanna.

21 Comments

Filed under fair isle, fearless knitting, sweaters

21 responses to “The Reckoning

  1. So beautiful! I cannot believe you’re almost done. If you really feel bad about not knitting along with Elspeth, I would be more than happy to send you a bunch of yarn so you can make me one!

  2. Wow, you are SO close to finishing it! although presumably you have a million ends to weave in on the inside that we can’t see at the moment…I’m hoping that’s the case, since your are clearly a fair isle knitting machine and I need to feel that I’m not so irritatingly slow with all my plain old one colour knitting!!

  3. It is looking wonderful!

  4. McAmy

    I vote for the Neener Neener Neener approach.

  5. Stunning. Simply stunning. :)

    I second the neener-neener approach, with the addition of a sacrifice of some appropriate fiber to appease the knitting goddesses. Either make a bit of fabulous yarn up into something truly inappropriate (how you interpret that word is up to you ;) or actually do a burnt offering. At least it’s spring/early summer, so you can do that part outside and not have to smell burned wool/silk/alpaca in the house. ;)

    Just a baby knitter, but I sew. The Fiber Goddess and I are well acquainted, and she humbles me regularly.

  6. Amazing! I can’t wait to see a finished shot of you wearing that work of art. A fingering weight sweater is not something that I’ve had the guts to attempt yet, but this is great inspiration!

    Tanis

  7. Glenna, that’s so pretty! I can’t wait to see it finished. :-)

  8. Stunningly Beautiful!
    I’d be in the ‘neener neener’ corner :^)

  9. It’s gorgeous! I’m bowing down to your fair isle skills. :)

  10. Love it – its so beautiful that surely the knitting goddess will go gently no matter how naughty you are!

  11. tinebeest

    It looks like there are lines of sunlight running through it, really beautiful!

  12. That is what we yanks call a “Throw Down.” Lemme finish this sleeve and stick it in the sweater and then? Then it is RECKONING time.

  13. Hmmmm. I’m beginning to think about what I might knit next and that looks v v tempting. Hmmmm.

    Also I think your two options are not mutually exclusive. You could take up heavy drinking AND dance around the house shouting neener, neener, neener. In fact, it might work better in combination :-)

  14. Liz

    KNITTERS’ RUMBLE!

    Will you play “It’s Raining Men” while crashing through the window of a Greek restaurant? Please?

    (Also, I do not know what to think about this. G is taller, but I would not count out E’s scrappiness, bolstered by her healthy sense of overachievement.)

  15. It is AMAZING.
    Good on yah for the patience to keep this going, I don’t know if I could do it. It looks beautiful.

  16. I think you should treat yourself to option “b” without fear – the knitting goddess won’t do anything to anyone who can knit something that fabulous!

  17. Ann

    Your Autumn Rose is gorgeous & the colors are fantastic! Congratulations on getting a place in the Sock Summit.

  18. I vote for “b”. Elspeth is clearly asking for it. (The knitting gods will understand, right?)

  19. I love the colours in this – very jealous! You may have inspired me to (in the autumn, perhaps) try my first fairisle

  20. Pingback: Dear Blog « Knitting to Stay Sane

  21. Pingback: the High Holy days of knitting… « Totally Unstitched