We interrupt this knitting geekery for regular geekery

Particularly in the summer when mainstream TV goes on hiatus, I tend to go through bursts of DVD watching or re-watching as I knit. Lately it’s been the X-Files, and since I finished off Season 8 last night (which, interestingly enough, goes by pretty fast when you skip half of it) and still haven’t gotten around to purchasing Season 9 so I can finally see for myself just how desperate the X-Files’ last gasps are, this leaves me looking around for something new. I think I might have to go back to Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I’m not sure why, it could be just be because I haven’t watched it in a while. Or, it could be this really kickass tee that arrived for me:

Photobucket

Now, admittedly I have not (yet) read the Twilight books, so I can really only account for the Buffy part of this equation and not Edward, but I suspect it is only a matter of time before I just have to read them and know, to experience the phenomenon for myself. Like the printed word version of a deep-fried mars bar. But isn’t it some universal fannish law that Buffy > you? I thought so.

The other thing that came in the mail was my order of Moo mini cards, which I want to bring with me to the Sock Summit in August. They are lovely, and I had a lot of fun picking knitting pictures to go on them. It’s like my own little project gallery in handy contact-information form. The only recommendation I have if you order a set of these for yourself is…double-check your info. I spent several minutes writing in the ‘y’ at the end of my email address. Oops.

Photobucket

And now, I had better go make peace with the fact that it is actually June and that May is not coming back. At least I have yarn to break my fall. Keep the knitting close by!

18 Comments

Filed under fandom

18 responses to “We interrupt this knitting geekery for regular geekery

  1. As an avid Joss Whedon fan, I heartily second the re-watching of Buffy! Have you seen his new show Dollhouse, btw? I think it’s pretty good. Also, this is a completely different show, but my husband and I never ever tire of Arrested Development. I think we’re on our 4th run! V. intelligent comedy there.

    Neato cards :)

  2. Jo

    You should also see the whole Angel series if you haven’t already. It is fantastic! Another great show is the newer version of Battlestar Galactica. It’s very dark and psychological if you are into that kind of tv.

    Happy viewing!
    -Jo

  3. rebecca

    we are so wearing our matching tee shirts in Portland! i want to see how many little twi-teens i can make cry.

    and as someone who has read all the twilight books, you need to totally suspend notions of what feminism is, remember that to some people Heathcliff is actually just a man in love (and that stalking is just a sign of his affection) and that despite what the books throw at you, Alice is awesome and someone needs to write her a series of her own (someone other than Stephanie Meyers).

    totally eyerolly fun and makes fandom watching a joy and a reminder that “oh, yeah, i’m not THAT crazy”
    :)

  4. Cyn

    I have not read the Twilight books, but I did read these summaries of them
    http://cleoland.pbworks.com/Twilight#Bookdiscussionentries
    which I suspect entertained me a lot more than reading the actual books would have. :P

  5. Amy

    I recently re-watched X-Files (well, I realized I’d never actually watched the last two seasons at all) and I found myself forcing my way through just so I could say that I watched it all. So sad, really. But then I also started re-watching Buffy! And again, I find it sad when shows that were so good in their prime slip at the end (though I don’t think Buffy ever went as low as X-Files). I totally love that T-Shirt too!

  6. I used to watch the x files but haven’t seen it for so long! I like films for knitting, it is the only way to keep me stilll for a while.

  7. Mwa-ha-ha-ha! LOVE IT! :D

    (Ok, I’ll admit to needing the Twilight prompt from another commenter because I haven’t read the books and *gasp!* don’t intend to. Because I’ve read enough *about* them to set my feminist blood boiling. But the shirt…. the shirt is *awesome*!)

    I second the re-watch of Buffy, and the love for Dollhouse. It started out pretty conventionally (network interference to at least some degree), but it also set up the characters pretty well so that when things started to get interesting, you had some actual character development to work with. All I’m going to say is that my respect for Alan Tudyk as an actor keeps growing, and I’m glad that Eliza is getting to do more than just be pretty and *just* kick ass.)

    As for it being June…. *sigh* Here in Minnesota we had a brief fling with July in May, and now it’s back to being April. My garden isn’t in yet, either.

  8. J.

    Ahahaha, oh that shirt. I have so many issues with the Twilight series (although: I only made it through the first book. Edward creeps me out.), and that definitely made me laugh out loud.

  9. LadyO

    If I was closer I’d lend you season 9…

    Love the T-shirt (reminds me of one that says “and then Sam and Dean showed up”)

    Cool cards.

  10. Those moo cards are fantastic!! Looks like you chose some great knits to highlight on them.

  11. Pretty cards!
    I should forewarn you: I recently read the first Twilight book, and am very sorry that I’ll never have those few precious hours back.
    Just sayin.

  12. Kalyn

    Hee hee! Great shirt!
    I have an enduring love for all things Joss Whedon as well, although I haven’t managed to catch Dollhouse yet (I’m not even sure if it’s playing on tv in Canada). So yes, re-watch Buffy! And then Serenity!
    I read the first two Twilight books and then got too fed up to continue – the first one was entertaining in a sexually repressed kind of way, the second…not so much. From the synopses I read of the third and fourth books I’m glad I gave them a miss, since I agree that they sound problematic from a feminist standpoint. Besides having flat-out ridiculous plots, that is (sorry twilight fans).
    Speaking of books, I should thank you for turning me on to Jasper Fforde’s books when you posted about them waaaay back when, I LOVE them (though I don’t catch all of the literary references either).

  13. I love those cards! And that shirt is very cool. As for geekery, I might have to revisit Gilmore Girls this summer. Did I just admit that? Yikes.

  14. Great tshirt! I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who powers through old tv shows on DVD (four seasons of The Office in two weeks, yowch). Deadwood is always a winner, and have you seen the first part of Caprica yet? Oh, and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog. Awesome.

  15. Hypatia

    I read (sort of) the first two twilight books. Honestly, I was expecting my feminist blood to boil, but I just found them boring. Nothing happens in the first one for something close to 300 pages, and I was able to skip/skim close to 100 pages of the second one without missing any crucial plot points. I can see how some people might like them, but definitely not for me. My advice would be save the few hours of your life and read something interesting.

  16. Ann

    Those mini cards are a great idea – just like name cards.

  17. meshaliu

    When I saw this link, I immediately thought of this post. Enjoy!
    http://blip.tv/file/2261825/