Daily Archives: June 17, 2009

From across the pond

Last night I met up briefly with Lisa, for miscellaneous knitting and chatting and exchange of items. I’d left a few things behind at her place during the kitty-minding stint and she also had some goodies from the UK.

Clearly great minds think alike, as we were both knitting on Lorna’s Laces socks at the time, me on Jaywalkers in the new ‘Rockwell’ colourway, her on Synesthesia socks in the tried and true ‘Tahoe':

Photobucket

That Jaywalker there is the 2nd of the pair, and I’ll be happy to have it finished and another set of LL Jaywalkers added to my sock drawer. (This will be pair #5, and I’d like at least 7). But Lisa was also kind enough to enhance my stash with some lovely knitting materials from ‘across the pond':

Photobucket

This is a Rowan ‘Scottish Inspirations’ book featuring a selection of sweaters, accessories, and home knits. I like the look of several pieces in here. The wool is from Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop, a slightly hairy fingering weight wool in well-chosen charcoal and periwinkle. I’m curious to know if any of you UK knitters have worked with this yarn – what sorts of things have you made with it? I have visions of gloves or even a fair isle muffler…I will have to ponder this for winter knits.

Tomorrow I will practically be able to wave across the Atlantic to knitters on the other side of it, as I am off to Halifax for a long weekend visit with some friends there. I hope to have at least one yarn shop experience while I’m there, and in general am looking forward to a fun visit. I’ll catch you on the other side!

In the meantime, keep the knitting close by.

7 Comments

Filed under knitting tourism, socks