Daily Archives: August 15, 2009

Still smaller than New Jersey

Aug-Market1

I was, admittedly, not going to do a post-Sock Summit stash enhancement post (contented as I was to simply hug my new stashlets and pet them and call them George), but then a few people prodded me about it, and verily I cannot help but want to share a few of the goodies. As the sign above taken from the Red Fish Knitting booth would seem to indicate, my seemingly sizeable stash is still smaller than it could be, and heck, it’s pretty, so why feel guilty, right? Right.

The Sock Summit marketplace was formidable. It was enormous, bigger than I think any of us expected. Most of us made multiple visits and shopped as much as we could, but sadly even the most dedicated among us couldn’t see everything there was to see. There was also the challenge of fitting in the marketplace around other things – for many of us the largest portions of our days were taken up with classes, or volunteer shifts, or seeing some of Portland, or simple meet-and-greet on the spot, and so our shopping had to happen in sort of precision strikes of an hour or so. Still, it was very hard to resist. So many pretty things, so little time.

Stash-LornasLaces

One of the highlights of Sock Summit was the Dye For Glory competition that preceded the event. Yarn dyers were invited to submit entries in several possible dyeing categories (I think they pretty much covered every possible method of applying colour to yarn, and the entries were all gorgeous). Well, colour me surprised and pleased when Lorna’s Laces entered several colourways – y’all know of my love of knitting Lorna’s Laces Jaywalkers. When I saw the red/grey/purple ‘Vampire Tea Party’ colourway I knew I’d have to have that one. When I found it in person nestled right next to the pleasantly green ‘Ghoul’s Gala’, I snagged that one as well, since green is a shade sadly lacking from my expanding Lorna’s Laces stash. (Now that I am 1.5 pairs away from having a Lorna’s Laces Jaywalker pair for every day of the week, I feel the only option at that point is simply to keep going. Maybe one for every day of the month. Who can tell.)

Stash-STR

Blue Moon was, unsurprisingly, a strong presence at Sock Summit and their centrally-placed booth always had people browsing. I had planned to simply get a skein of their special ST-2 colourway (how could I resist all the red/pink/purple shades?), but then saw that they had a sizeable rack of mill ends and snagged two of those as well. And then throughout the weekend I would find myself being drawn back…and get more. I surprise myself to have brought back this small heap of Socks That Rock, two heavyweight, one mediumweight, and four lightweight, mostly mill ends. I think this’ll do me for STR for a while, and will let me skip the lineups at The Fold at Rhinebeck. (Famous last words, or no?)

Stash-BriarRose

Speaking of Rhinebeck and gaggles of knitters, one vendor I was very happy to have a look at under milder shopping conditions was Briar Rose. Surely they need little introduction, no? Beautifully dyed skeins in long yardages. They are always popular but even though I’ve seen them at Rhinebeck I’ve never made a purchase there. After a bit of decision-making time I took the plunge at their booth at Sock Summit, and made my way off with a sweater’s worth of their bulky weight in a purple-green combination called ‘sonoma’. Perhaps this will take the edge off of the fine gauge sock knitting I am bound to be doing in the near…well, until the end of time, at this rate. Heh.

Stash-Roving

Now that I have a spinning wheel and will now have to actually start using it seriously can devote more efforts to developing a fibre stash, I did look out for a few nice bits of roving. These ones followed me home from Becoming Art and Wool Candy – two small Etsy dyers I’m unlikely to come across in person soon – and some absolutely decadently soft Australian merino from Ms. Gusset, an indie Australian dyer who I think is still new and developing her business. I don’t think she’ll have too much trouble, with beautiful things such as these.

There are, admittedly, other bits and pieces from my Sock Summit stash, though many have already been gifted away or are reserved for gift knitting. Another thing I haven’t blogged about too much are the actual projects from the four wonderful classes I took, but I think I will enjoy coming back to these throughout the coming fall. (Oh God. It’s almost fall. Someone help).

Today I’m enjoying a restful and hermity day in air conditioned comfort and allowing myself some time to ponder some design work. I hope your weekend is a good one, and that you have some knitting stash to enjoy!

22 Comments

Filed under sock summit, stash