Daily Archives: August 28, 2009

Progress

This morning I got up, had breakfast, and then sat down to finish plying my fourth skein efforts at the Little Gem. Lo and behold, I have managed to turn Kim‘s beautiful merino/seacell pencil roving (called ‘Brains belong inside your head’) into a skein of something approaching DK-weight.

Aug28-Skein4b

Still not balanced, but I am feeling better about my consistency and am definitely looking forward to more practice. I think I will try for about this same weight on my next couple of skeins, and hopefully not injure my poor Little Gem in the process…I have been having the odd surprise with the wheel, things like the drive band dis-lodging itself spontaneously from the treadle, and although this has been intermittent it definitely plays havoc with trying to maintain consistent speed.

And speaking of things that are purple, earlier this week I pulled out my current shawl project which I started before Sock Summit, but which has sadly been languishing ever since I came back from it. This is the Swallowtail shawl once again, which I am trying to enlarge by extending the bud lace to 19 repeats and intend to work a 3rd repeat of the lily of the valley.

Aug28-Swallowtail2

Wouldn’t you know it, even the nupps aren’t so bad any more. I could even start to enjoy them. I’m hoping to put in some quality time with this in the next week or so (famous last words, no?) so that I can move on to new things and have this as a fall wearable.

I hope your weekend is a good one! Keep the knitting close by.

13 Comments

Filed under lace, shawls, spinning