Slow News Day

Aside from struggling with course syllabi and the very idea of stringing together multiple productive thoughts, I am:

1. Very much in denial that it is already September.

2. Still knitting the same freaking Jaywalkers I started as my Sock Summit travelling socks. It’s not their fault, the darling things are very pretty (Lorna’s Laces in ‘Mixed Berries’), they’ve just kept getting shoved to the bottom of the knit list.

Sept1-Jaywalkers

3. Knitting away furiously on things which are not yet bloggable, but which soon shall be and the anticipation is killing me.

4. Now using Flickr Pro. After two bandwidth freakouts on my Photobucket account (which is two too many when each one involves re-building all photo links from scratch), I am migrating over to Flickr and am officially paying to blog. I think the Sock Summit posts must have done me in. However, the cost is worth it to save headaches and revive Flickr connections over there. (Also, makes re-ordering my Moo cards and composing photo mosaics lots easier, so bonus).

5. Still spinning. Witness the Louet Corriedale (top?) I plucked from my fledgling fibre stash, so beautiful and accommodating:

Sept1-Spinning2

Sept1-Spinning1

I love it. I only just started spinning on it yesterday in a brief session but yes, I am loving the Corriedale, very much indeed so. It’s soft(ish) and grabby at the same time and does not mind speed at all, and yet I am trying very hard not to go too fast so as to better maintain consistency of short draw technique.

6. Learning how to use vocabulary like “short draw.”

7. Looking forward to the Kitchener-Waterloo Knitter’s Fair.

8. Wishing I was knitting right now.

11 Comments

Filed under real life miscellaney, spinning

11 responses to “Slow News Day

  1. I love the blue that you are spinning, it’s so rich! The K-W Knitter’s Fair sounds lovely, I’m jealous!

  2. Molly

    Definitely top! Love the color.

    (Easiest way to tell top from roving: if you pull it apart, top leaves an even edge and roving a ragged one. Also, top just looks neater and more aligned and more reflective, generally.)

  3. barefootrooster

    what a gorgeous blue/turquoise! and lovely spinning.

  4. I know what you mean exactly (how can it be September? this is not happening!) but that yarn should keep the denial going smoothly!

  5. September? What do you mean? Isn’t it August 32?

    I need to learn what long draw and short draw mean. In fact, I need to learn a whole new vocabulary regarding spinning, other than, “No, I don’t want to learn to spin.” Because that’s no longer true…

    Your blue fiber is really pretty! As is the yarn emerging from it.

  6. Ooh, I have some of that Corriedale I’ve been meaning to try. Nice to know that it’s easy to work with.

  7. Maureen

    September is “our” first day of a new year! Where else do you get to start all over again with a clean slate and endless possibilities? While it’s always difficult to say goodbye to summer, I continue to love (after many years!) the first day of school with all those bright, smiling faces coming through the doors! :)
    Wishing you the best school year ever…and happy knitting!

  8. Ooh that is such a pretty blue :-)

  9. J.

    Every time you do a spinning post, my hands get twitchy. It looks so fun, and that blue is absolutely lovely.

  10. You must be my color soulmate! The Mixed Berries and your homespun are absolutely sumptuous. Just how I like my colors.

  11. ooh, that is some gorgeous yarn. what a lovely blue!