Daily Archives: September 21, 2009

Two by two, knits of blue

The thing about coming to that elusive ‘blank slate’ of knitting is that it doesn’t usually last very long. Between last Saturday morning and Monday morning I had cast on no fewer than 4 new projects, two of which were indeed quite blue, as I suspected. (The other two are not entirely blue, and shall appear in this blog in due course.) I think there is something about this deep shade of turquoise that I find extremely comforting. I seem to gravitate towards it in the late winter/early spring, but heck, maybe it’s time for blue to have an autumn turn as well.

Sept21-CassidySleeves2

This is the beginnings of a new sweater, one which I’ve been wanting to cast on for months and months, but since my sweater-knitting pace this year seems to be not only glacial but exponentially so, it’s taken me forever to getting around to starting it. I love this yarn and can’t wait to have it finished to wear in the fall. It may be a backup Rhinebeck sweater, even.

The pattern is Bonne Marie Burns’ totally cute Cassidy cardigan, yarn is Berroco Ultra Alpaca (one of my top favourite yarns for sure) in Oceanic Mix which I bought back in February on a sale and which has been incredibly patient with me. (This much can be said of my stash – I could clothe myself many days over with knits from it, but I do know how to rock a yarn sale). After 9 days I thought for sure I would have been over the sleeves and into the body by now, but then again my internal knitter clock has always been a bit impatient with my actual real world clock. And besides, the sweater’s doing a little better than my other knit of blue:

Sept21-FAsocks1

These are the Fleece Artist socks of much pondering, with the double-stranding of Merino sock and Angel Hair mohair/silk/nylon. I am enjoying knitting them but sadly they have been pushed not only to transit knitting but second-tier transit knitting, and this is also 9 days’ worth of effort. I will say, though, that I think these are going to turn out very nicely for house socks, but possibly not so much for daily practical wear – I believe they are going to be incredibly warm, thanks to that grabby mohair.

And the blue spinning, that is coming along nicely as well. In my next post, though, I am going to do my darnedest to show you one of the not-blue things. I love it and am just itching to show you all, but it’s not quite done yet. Soon. With that, it’s time to put the knitting clock away and look at the real world one again. Stupid real world. It’s a harsh place, I tells ya.

May your Monday be as painless as possible! Happy knitting tonight.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized