Daily Archives: December 17, 2009

Giving in

I won’t lie, folks, I’m flagging. Flagging hard. I’m on Week 2 of Grading Fest 2009, and although the end is now in sight and I know this is a temporary hell that i’m in and not a permanent one, and that I will one day return to fanciful knitting thoughts and exciting new Finished Objects…I am kidding myself if I say that today is that day.

I had a short list of gift knitting items that I wanted to make this year – maybe 4 or 5. Not too many, I thought, especially since I started a month ago and I thought that was pretty decent. Well, as it happens, in that month I have managed to crank out exactly 1 Christmas gift so far. Actually, that’s a lie – I’ve got 75% of a gift: one and a half socks out of a pair for my Grandfather. He will wear them with great happiness and really, if you’re going to prioritize knitted gift recipients, I say definitely prioritize who-ever is at the top of the family tree. But still, they are men’s size 12 navy blue stockinette socks and even my transit knitting time has been beaten down, much the same way my creative zest has been pummelled by the Grading Fest assault.

But I digress. Today, on a 24-hour self imposed grading hiatus and very necessary trip to the mall for gift needs, I had an epiphany.

Dec17-EatonCentre1

It wasn’t the surprise over discovering that one can still purchase the original New Kids On the Block Christmas CD, or the quiet rage over booksellers’ insistence that young women’s reading preferences are limited only to things with vampires in them, or even the gentle relief that comes with realizing that if the lines at Chapters-Indigo are than damned long, then at least that means people are still reading things.

No. It was the dawning realization that although it can take a person a month to knit one gift, you can buy 5 in less than an hour.

We’re knitting an uphill battle, folks. Consumerism is so EASY.

It is not, however, easy enough to induce me to purchase discounted Halloween cookies in the middle of frakking DECEMBER, Williams Sonoma I’m looking at you.

Dec17-EatonCentre2

Tonight my 24-hours-of-no-grading are still in effect. I have hopes for the return of the beaded lace. With possibly the extra degree of difficulty of knitting while drinking a cosmo. (I play Denial at advanced levels).

Happy knitting, folks, and may your gift knitting (however much of it there is) be in whatever state you want it to be.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized