Daily Archives: December 21, 2009

You and me could write a bad romance

Over the last couple of weeks I have had time to come to a few conclusions.

1. When a single human being is required to shoulder all course teaching and grading responsibilities all by her lonesome, it is impossible to be pedagogically sound and temporally efficient all at the same time. Next term, my exams and assignments are going to be reduced by at least 25% in length. I can’t do it all, man, not if it means practically absenting myself from the rest of the world for weeks at a time.

Dec21-AccessorizeThis

2. Matching your winter scarf to your winter coat is pretty damned satisfying.

3. I am helpless in the face of pop music earworms. (Latest evidence procured after succumbing once again to Lady Gaga’s latest.)

Dec21-AccessorizeThis2

4. I don’t know why I never wore slouchy berets before. Now that I have one I am wearing it all the time, and wonder if it may actually be the secret lynchpin of the fashionable handknits wardrobe, in manner of skinny jeans/tall boots combo for the stylish urban woman or similar.

5. In fact, if you combine #3 and #4 and walk down the street in your co-ordinating possibly more stylish than you stylish hand-knits, you can come pretty darned close to feeling like you are strutting a runway, instead of walking down your regular sidewalk past the blue bins that just got emptied by the trash collectors.

Dec21-WalkThisWay2

6. To arrive at December 21st and have no baked cookies in the house is practically a crime against the season. I am going to rectify this shortly.

7. It comforts me to no end to know, after my last post, that many of you are also in the gift knitting denial and/or grieving phases. It means I am in good company. But then, you knew that, right?

I thought so.

24 Comments

Filed under accessories