Daily Archives: January 21, 2010

Such a charade

So, a while back (well, OK, December), I got a lovely and generous gift from Tanis. She’s started to break out into variegated colourways and asked me if I’d like to try out one of these new sock skeins. I got it in the mail while in the middle of gift-sock knitting before Christmas and had to hold myself back from casting on right away, it was so darned pretty looking.

Jan20-Charade1

I’ve been knitting it during stints of transit-knitting into a pair of Charades (Ravelry pattern link – can’t find the original web link, has it gone the way of the wind?). Last winter I knitted myself a pair of Charades with some nice colourful yarn, and then I washed them in the wash as I do with all my socks, and the darned things shrunk on me.

Well, not this time, SUCKERS. These socks will not shrink, I am determined. Also, this ‘Rhythm’ colourway is turning out sort of dressy looking, which helps me in the “get more grown-up-looking hand knit socks” quest. Still, she’s got plenty of crazy fun multi-colours in there, so maybe I’ll have to branch out.

So much yarn, so little time.

14 Comments

Filed under socks