Daily Archives: June 3, 2010

All Lace all the Time

The knitting universe is throwing a lot of lace at me at the moment. Despite the fact that my brain is already starting to say “nooo, cables, why aren’t you knitting more cables,” I am steadfast and trying to remind my brain that if one were to ever make time for a lace knitting binge, the summer months are exactly that kind of time.

To wit, I am still chugging away on the Bridgewater shawl, which doesn’t look much like lace yet, but it will once I finish the central square of garter stitch and start in on the lace edging. I am happy that it is starting to look more square like now that I am back on the decreasing-triangle side instead of the increasing-triangle side. Also, in case you were ever in any doubt on this subject, I can report that garter stitch on lace-weight yarn is not the speediest project ever. Fingering weight socks are going to feel like a sprint after this.

June3-Bridgewater

I’m also moving forward on a new design for The Sweet Sheep, with a big sunny skein of one of Michelle’s Super Soft Skeins that she handed over to me at the Knitter’s Frolic. She dyes up 8 oz skeins of fingering weight so that a person can get a nicely sized shawl out of it without ever having to stop and change skein in the middle of the project. This one is coming along nicely so far, and is planned for mid/late summer release. I’m enjoying the stitch pattern so far. I’m going for a combination of two stitch patterns and am generally a fan of the “looks very pretty but isn’t freaking intimidating” kind of lace, and yea verily will apply that logic here.

June3-SweetSheepShawl

I also have the two skeins of Tanis Fiber Arts Mulberry Silk that I got at the Frolic, and a copy of the Peacock Feathers shawl, and would like to get on those some time soon too. So many things to knit.

Have you got any lace on the needles? Happy knitting!

22 Comments

Filed under lace