Daily Archives: July 5, 2010

In case you were wondering

Despite the fact that it is approximately twelve kinds of steaming hot outside (hello, July), I am thinking a lot about starting a bunch of new knitting projects. I am thinking about starting my own Royale (which will be my Rhinebeck sweater this year). I am thinking about designing a fair isle sweater, or perhaps a whole series of gloves. I am thinking about starting a new shawl with that Tanis mulberry silk I got at the beginning of May. I am thinking about starting a new pair of Jaywalkers with more of the Lorna’s Laces sock yarn I have stashed. I am thinking about knitting a cute little cropped summer cardigan to look cute and summery with.

I owe this rich knitting fantasy life to the fact that, instead of starting any of these things, I am trying to finish the things still on the needles before putting any new things on the needles. And this means that instead of fun new socks or awesome new cabled things, I am knitting the edging on the Bridgewater shawl, which is the final step before I block the snot out of it and pray that when it is blocked it really will look shawl-like and not like the pile of greyish string it is starting to resemble in my dulled mind’s eye.

July5-BridgewaterEdging

And just in case you were wondering, knitting an edging on a square laceweight shawl takes a freaking long time. 1 corner down, 3 more to go.

Here’s hoping when next we meet I will have this sucker cast off, because I don’t know how much longer I can resist the lure of my stash. Until then…stay cool, my knitting friends. And knitterly.

9 Comments

Filed under lace