Daily Archives: August 6, 2010

What direction was I going again

The good news is, I am back on track with my Royale. I did in fact, rip it back to fix the mistake (The bad news is that in fact, I had to rip back twice, because after ripping back the first time and after resuming knitting it, I realized I hadn’t ripped back far enough the first time, and therefore had to rip out the re-knitted inch or so AND the original mistake, HAH what a fun time that was), and I believe it is all in the clear now. I did debate about it, since – as many of you pointed out last time – the mistake wasn’t as obvious to some people as it was to others. But I want to wear this sweater to Rhinebeck this year, and I realized I would be happier wearing it if I could say “hey, I really like my sweater, I designed it and everything!” instead of “I really like my design, but just pay no attention to the goof-up right over the middle of the front of it, that doesn’t count, lalalallaaa…”

Aug6-Royale

So I ripped it back. And now I think I am in the clear, and am almost back to the point I was at on about Monday or so. Two steps forward, two steps back, some days. Clearly, the fact that the design sample and pattern construction for this sweater was all pleasurable, efficient, and relatively mistake-free, has now come back to bite me on the ass. Let’s hope I’ve appeased the knitting gods for the time being.

Everything else is in a state of being in progress around here. Knitting, writing, the fact that I have to prep lectures and course materials for the coming term (a good thing in that I get to do it in exchange for money, it just requires a bit of mental sucking-it-up to actually get back into the swing of doing it), and it all adds up to me furiously wishing I had something actually done. I miss having finished objects. I’ve had so few of them this summer, despite having many things on the go, and many more design ideas brewing.

Aug6-Lace

Speaking of designs, I’m chugging away on a bit of lace to round out the end of the summer, including finishing up that yellow lacy thing for The Sweet Sheep (still lacy and yellowy, getting bigger), and a new red cashmere thingy which will be for Tanis Fiber Arts for September. (Which, isn’t the fact that it is red and cashmere pretty much all you need to know? I figure, anyway).

And, thankfully, after a 6 month (!) period of neglect, my spinning wheel is still speaking to me.

Aug6-Spinning

I’m so glad spinning wheels don’t hold grudges.

Happy knitting to you for the coming weekend! Until next time.

8 Comments

Filed under cables, design, spinning