Daily Archives: October 13, 2010

Weekend socks

Timing is a wonderful thing.

This week I am pleased to show you a sock pattern of mine, published in the November 2010 issue of Canadian Living magazine (on newsstands now!) and also generously available for free on Canadian Living Online. I received my own copy in the mail yesterday and proceeded to thoroughly geek out over it. I may continue to do so by looking at copies in the grocery store lineup. Heh.

Oct13-WeekendSocks

This is a basic, worsted-weight sock pattern, intended to encourage knitters to take the leap into sock knitting. The advantage with worsted-weight socks is that they are pretty quick compared to fingering weight, so even if you are only putting in an hour or so of knitting a few evenings a week, you can see progress before too long. And if you’re intimidated about making your first pair of socks, having a bit of speed on your side can be a real boost. I’ve written this up for 3 different sizes so that different kinds of feet can be easily acommodated!

As this is also meant to be a “learn to make socks” kind of pattern, part of my assignment involved doing up a series of photos to follow along with the pattern, and you can see them online here, in a photo slide show. You can see the sock as it grows, from the leg through the heel turn, and a picture of the toe.

Oct13-WeekendSocks2

But as for the timing…good job there, people at Canadian Living who are in charge of these things. When I was writing this up a few months ago it was not at all cold enough to feel like I was ever going to get to the point of wanting to pull on thick homey socks to wear around the house or inside boots. Well, lo and behold, just as this pattern hit the newsstands, as of yesterday the temperatures started to get pretty frosty overnight, and this morning after I got up the first thing I did was pull on my own pair of these. They are wonderful, and I say screw slippers. Heavy wool socks for everyone!

My own pair and the photographed sample were done up in Louet Gems worsted, but a variety of yarns could be used. I have to say though, I love this yarn. I hadn’t spent much time with it before, but I feel pretty confident saying that I will be spending more time with it in the future. It’s soft, wears pretty well, and I can throw it in the washing machine if I want to, and the colours are gorgeous.

Happy fall knitting, blog friends!

23 Comments

Filed under design, free pattern, socks