Daily Archives: October 17, 2010

Rhine-Ten

Oct17-Rhinebeck1

I think, for the first time, I wasn’t overwhelmed by the big-ness of Rhinebeck. I went in planning to have an enjoyable time and hang out with some awesome kntters, and buy some pretty things along the way, and that’s what I did. I rode down with a great van-load of Canadian knitters and stayed with a house-load of American ones. It has been a weekend of yarn-related crazy and gathering, in a good way.

Ann, who bought a fleece at Rhinebeck last year, was wearing the sweater that she had knitted from the yarn she had spun from the fleece she bought at Rhinebeck last year. I think she wins.

Oct16-Rhinebeck16

But then Stacey (new curly-haired sister-friend) also wins, because she broke her foot last Wednesday and still came. Elspeth made sure she got her scooter. She was pretty slick, zipping around the fairgrounds in style.

Oct16-Rhinebeck17

Today I ended up meeting up with Sandi at lunch time. She had the garlic dog, I had the deep fried mushrooms.

Oct17-Rhinebeck6

We looked at spindles and fibre, she wore some fibre on her head like a crown, you know, as one does.

Oct17-Rhinebeck9

The sheeps (and goats) were sheepy (and goaty?)…

Oct17-Rhinebeck5

Emily bought her body weight in Briar Rose yarn…

Oct17-Rhinebeck12

We went to the Ravelry meetup and the internet came to life before my very eyes, and Gwen got her first Ravelry button…

Oct16-Rhinebeck10

Oct16-Rhinebeck9

A bunch of us played blogger/Ravelry bingo…

Oct17-Rhinebeck7

Jo bought all the spinning fibres…

Oct16-Rhinebeck4

There were yarn-related things that weren’t yarn…

Oct17-Rhinebeck13

Because I was there for 2 days and not just 1 this time, there was even a bit of time for sitting and knitting…

Oct17-Rhinebeck10

And then, it was over. Thanks, Rhinebeck!

Oct16-Rhinebeck1

22 Comments

Filed under knitting in public, rhinebeck