Daily Archives: October 21, 2010

Rhinebeck, the Stash-en-ing

Every year there are knitters who manage to go to Rhinebeck and not buy anything. I have no idea how they manage this. Clearly, they are stronger/wiser/more powerful than me, because I always return with an armload of yarn. This year, though, I made an effort to be a bit more mindful of what I was buying – that I’d rather have a few things I was happy with than many many smaller portions of things I didn’t know what to do with. Truthfully, I never can tell how long any of my acquisitions will sit in the stash, but I can at least try to acquire things that will stand me in good stead when I am suddenly hit with a project idea.

One of my first stops, therefore, was the Briar Rose booth. I have never managed to get to them in the first half of the day (Saturday) before, and it makes a huge difference in the selection that is there. I knew I wanted to get a sweater quantity of something, and lo and behold I came out with two of their generous skeins of Abundance, a heavy worsted/Aran ish weight, in a smokey grey-purple shade. One skein is a bit more purple than the other, so whatever I make with it, I’ll be sure to alternate skeins.

Oct21-RhinebeckStash2

On Sunday I returned to the Green Mountain Spinnery, having weighed the decision for a day, and also snagged a sweater’s worth of yarn from them – their wooly worsted 2-ply, appropriately named ‘Wonderfully Wooly’, in a nice dark cranberry shade of red. This is going to be something cabled, for sure, though who knows what and when ;)

Oct21-RhinebeckStash1

Although I wasn’t (really for sure I wasn’t) going to get any spinning fibre, so long has my spinning wheel been neglected these few months, I couldn’t help picking up a bit over at Into the Whirled. Their colours are just so lovely. And peeking out from under there are 2 skeins of wool/silk blend from Brooks Farm, for perhaps something in a hat and mittens set? We shall see.

Oct21-RhinebeckStash3

And finally, I have something for you, dear readers – a single fine skein of Holiday Yarns flock sock, in ‘Graple’, a nice purple colour. For a chance to be the happy recipient of this skein, just leave a comment on this post some time between now and Saturday morning (Toronto time), telling me about a knitting gathering you’ve been to and enjoyed (of any size) and I’ll draw a winner’s name at random. A little piece of Rhinebeck from me to you!

Oct21-RhinebeckStash4

I hope your Thursday has some knitting in it today! Until next time.

161 Comments

Filed under rhinebeck, stash